Robinhood Review: Fees, Cash, Crypto, Safety And Who It Suits

Verified Review
Published Updated

Stocks, options and coins share one phone app at Robinhood, and this Robinhood review rates the brokerage side for investors who want them in one place. What that account costs comes down to one choice, the Robinhood Gold subscription, since it sets what cash earns and how much of an IRA deposit gets matched. Stock and ETF trades cost nothing, so the catch is what uninvested cash earns and what leaving costs.

Andjela Radmilac
Reviewed by
Liam 'Akiba' Wright
Fact-checked by
Launched in 2024
5.9 Fair
Review Highlights
  • 3.6% APY on taxable cash with Gold
  • 90 coins with on-chain transfers
  • $0 per contract on equity and ETF options

Robinhood Overview

Broker Name
Robinhood
Broker Type
App-First Broker
Main Products
Stocks, ETFs, Fractional Shares, Options, Futures, Spot Crypto, Crypto ETFs
Stock / ETF Commission
$0 online
Options Fee
$0 per equity or ETF contract. Index options $0.50 per contract, $0.35 with Gold
Default Cash Yield
Sep 23, 2026: 0% without Gold; 3.6% APY with Gold; IRAs 0%
Transfer-Out Fee
$100, full or partial ACATS transfer
Account Minimum
$0
Spot Crypto
Robinhood Crypto, LLC; 90 coins observed September 23, 2026; availability varies
Crypto ETF Access
Spot crypto ETFs listed; no published suitability gate; verify account eligibility
Retirement Accounts
Traditional, Roth
Protection
SIPC via Robinhood Financial and Robinhood Securities if a broker fails, never for market losses. $50M per customer excess. Crypto: not SIPC
Regulator / CRD
SEC and FINRA. Robinhood Financial CRD 165998, Robinhood Securities CRD 287900
Subscription
Robinhood Gold, $5/month or $50/year

Robinhood Screenshots

Robinhood Pros and Cons

Pros

  • No contract fee on equity or ETF options
  • 3.6% APY on taxable cash with Gold
  • 1% IRA match, or 3% on Gold contributions
  • Overnight trading on select stocks and ETFs

Cons

  • Uninvested cash earns 0% without Gold
  • A $100 fee on every transfer out
  • IRA match lost if money leaves within five years
  • Four open investigations in its own filings
  • No mutual funds or individual bonds

Is Robinhood Worth It?

Keeping an account open is free, so the bill turns on the $50 Gold fee that switches on cash interest and the $100 charged to leave.

Robinhood fits investors who trade often and want shares, options and 90 coins behind one login. Equity option contracts cost $0, and coins from Robinhood Crypto, LLC, a separate company inside the app, can leave on-chain.

Without Gold, uninvested cash earns nothing and IRA deposits draw the standard 1% match. Robinhood takes back any match paid on money that leaves within five years. Investors who keep large cash balances without a subscription, or who need mutual funds or a phone line to a person, should compare Fidelity, Schwab or Vanguard first.

Robinhood works for $0 option contracts and on-chain crypto in one mobile account. It falls short on cash interest without a subscription and on a support line you can dial.

Who Robinhood Suits And Who Should Skip It

Experience matters less here than how much cash stays uninvested and whether the account is an IRA.

Buy-And-Hold ETF InvestorMixed fit. $0 ETF trades and $1 fractional buys, but cash between purchases earns 0% without Gold
Retirement Saver (IRA)Mixed fit. Two IRA types, 0% on IRA cash, and a match taken back if money leaves within five years
Options TraderGood fit. $0 per equity contract and Level 3 in margin accounts, though IRAs stop at Level 2
Active / Day TraderMixed fit. Overnight sessions but no bracket orders, and a flag for frequent day trading (pattern day trader) stops cash interest
Investor Holding A Lot Of CashPoor fit without Gold. With it, taxable cash earns 3.6% APY for $50 a year
Crypto BuyerGood fit. On-chain transfers and staking at Robinhood Crypto, LLC, with a 0.95% rebate built into each trade's spread
Crypto ETF InvestorMixed fit. The 56 funds on offer need no extra risk agreement, but Robinhood does not confirm it accepts orders for each
Beginner With A Small AccountMixed fit. $0 minimum, but help comes by chat or callback and deposits wait before withdrawal

Margin-account options traders who move coins between wallets pay Robinhood the least, since neither activity carries a Robinhood fee.

Without Gold, $20,000 parked between trades earns nothing, and a Roth IRA moved elsewhere within five years hands back its match.

What You Can Invest In At Robinhood

Robinhood's brokerage range runs from stocks and ETFs to options and futures, and it stops short of mutual funds and individual bonds.

US Stocks And ETFs$0 commission on US-listed and OTC stocks, ETFs and closed-end funds
Fractional SharesFrom $1 on most stocks priced over $1 with a market value over $25 million, and on ETFs. Not transferable
Recurring InvestingStocks, ETFs and crypto, from every market day to monthly. IRAs cover stocks and ETFs
OptionsEquity, ETF and index options at Level 2 or Level 3. Cash accounts and IRAs stop at Level 2
Mutual FundsNot offered
Bonds, Treasuries And CDsIndividual bonds not offered. Bond exposure comes through bond ETFs
FuturesSeparate account at Robinhood Derivatives, LLC, 23 hours a day on weekdays, some markets 24/7
International StocksADRs only, excluding those subject to local transaction taxes

Robinhood Derivatives, LLC runs the event contracts in Robinhood's prediction markets through Kalshi, ForecastEx and Rothera, an exchange Robinhood controls.

Investors who build portfolios from index mutual funds or hold Treasuries to maturity have to use ETFs here or keep a second broker.

Crypto At Robinhood: Spot Crypto And Crypto ETFs

Robinhood sells coins directly and lists spot crypto ETFs through its brokerage. Spot coins are sold and held by Robinhood Crypto, LLC, a separate company with its own score in our Robinhood Crypto review.

Spot Crypto At Robinhood Crypto, LLC

Robinhood Crypto, LLC holds New York virtual currency and money transmitter licenses and offers 90 coins for trading. It discloses that it was paid integration fees for supporting 17 of them. The default market-maker route charges no commission, but since June 15, 2026, market makers have paid Robinhood Crypto $0.95 of every $100 traded, up from $0.85, a rebate built into the spread between buy and sell prices. The optional exchange route charges a 0.95% taker fee, the rate on orders that fill at once, under $10,000 of monthly volume and is unavailable in North Carolina.

Coins move on-chain both ways after an identity re-check of up to five business days, never by ACATS, the system brokers use to move accounts between them. Robinhood Crypto pays crypto staking rewards on ETH, SOL and ADA and keeps 25% of them. Residents of California, Maryland, New Jersey and Wisconsin cannot stake. New York residents cannot trade 31 coins, and Texas blocks USDC and USDG.

Robinhood Crypto is one of the crypto exchanges that serve US investors in every state and DC. It is not a broker-dealer, so neither SIPC, which pays out only when a member broker fails, nor the excess insurance above it covers its coins. Spot coins cannot go into a Robinhood IRA.

Crypto ETFs At Robinhood: Bitcoin, Ether, Solana And XRP

Every one of the 13 US spot Bitcoin ETFs is available at Robinhood, which carries 56 of the 62 US spot crypto ETFs still trading.

AssetSpot ETFs Listed At RobinhoodNotes
Bitcoin13 of 13Includes IBIT. 10 trade in the 24 Hour Market
Ethereum11 of 12CETH not listed. 8 trade overnight
Solana9 of 10OSOL not listed. New fractional buys closed on TSOL, SOEZ, QSOL and SOLC
XRP5 of 52 trade overnight
Other altcoins18 of 22New fractional buys closed on 8 funds. None trade overnight. TRXS has no margin loan value

Robinhood requires no suitability agreement, meaning an extra risk agreement, and charges no surcharge on these funds. It gives no reason for closing fractional buys on 12, and it does not say, fund by fund, whether it accepts orders or allows the fund in an IRA.

Costs: What You Actually Pay At Robinhood

Robinhood charges $0 for online trades in US stocks and ETFs, as every large US broker does, and earns that back from order flow, the crypto spread, the Gold fee and charges on money leaving the account.

Stocks / ETFs (online)$0
Broker-Assisted TradeNot disclosed. Phone support is callback only
Options$0 per equity or ETF contract. Index options $0.50 per contract, $0.35 with Gold
Mutual Funds (non-NTF)Not offered
Account Maintenance$0
IRA FeesNo annual or closing fee. Match clawbacks apply
Transfer Out (ACATS)$100, full or partial
Inactivity$0
Margin Rate (smallest tier)5.25% under $50,000
Outgoing Wire$25
Spot CryptoNo commission on the default route, $0.95 per $100 inside the spread. Exchange routing 0.95% taker at entry
Crypto WithdrawalNo Robinhood fee. Estimated network fee charged

Buying stocks and ETFs, staying put and withdrawing by free ACH costs nothing at Robinhood.

What This Table Does Not Include

Each fund charges its own expense ratio, and none of it goes to Robinhood, which issues no ETFs or index funds of its own.

Robinhood Gold vs No Subscription

Robinhood Gold, sold by Robinhood Gold, LLC, changes the rate on taxable cash, the size of the IRA match, index option and futures fees, and instant-deposit limits.

TermWithout Robinhood GoldWith Robinhood Gold
Price$0$5 a month or $50 a year
Taxable cash0%3.6% APY
IRA cash0%0%
IRA match1% on contributions, transfers and rollovers3% on annual contributions, 1% on transfers and rollovers
Index options$0.50 per contract$0.35 per contract
Futures$0.75 per contract$0.50 per contract
Margin5.25% under $50,000Same rates, first $1,000 interest-free
Instant depositsUp to $1,000, or twice the portfolioFrom $5,000, up to three times the portfolio, not in IRAs

For taxable cash earning 3.6%, the fee pays for itself once the balance averages about $1,389, because $50 divided by 3.6% is $1,389. On a $7,500 IRA contribution, 3% is $225 against $75 at the standard rate, a $150 gap that covers three years of Gold. It holds only if Gold is kept a year and the money stays in the IRA for five years.

Robinhood Margin Rates

The tier a balance falls in sets the rate on the whole settled balance.

Under $50,0005.25%
$50,000 to $100,0005.05%
$100,000 to $1 million4.75%
$1 million to $10 million4.50%
$10 million to $50 million4.45%
Over $50 million4.20%

Borrowing $10,000 costs $525 a year at the smallest tier. Gold's interest-free first $1,000 is worth $52.50 a year at that rate, slightly more than its annual fee.

Robinhood Transfer-Out And Instant Withdrawal Fees

Robinhood charges $100 for every ACATS transfer out, whether one position moves or the whole account.

ACH withdrawals are free. Instant withdrawals to a bank or debit card cost up to 1.75%, with a $1 minimum and a $150 cap, so pulling $2,000 at once can cost $35.

Costs That Do Not Show On The Fee Page

  • The options regulatory fee, a per-contract charge Robinhood passes on, may differ from or exceed the fee Robinhood itself pays.
  • Staking rewards on ETH, SOL and ADA arrive with 25% already removed.
  • Crypto sends charge an estimated network fee, and no contract term returns any over-estimate.
  • IRA match money is taken back if it leaves within five years, and canceling Gold within a year costs 2/3 of the Gold match.
  • Accounts under $50 pay $2 for each paper statement or confirmation.

Uninvested Cash: What It Earns And Who Holds It

A new taxable account holds cash at Robinhood Securities as a free credit balance, meaning uninvested cash the broker owes the investor. Robinhood's customer agreement says that cash “will not earn interest” outside the High-Yield Cash Program, which only Gold subscribers can join. Self-directed IRAs are barred from the program, so their cash always earns 0%.

What Robinhood Pays On Cash, With And Without Gold

Free credit balance (default)0%
High-Yield Cash Program3.6% APY, Gold required, taxable accounts only
IRA cash0%, with or without Gold
Account flagged as a pattern day trader0% until the flag is removed
Robinhood Strategies managed account3.6%, no Gold required
Money market fund sweepNot offered

Gold's cash rate comes from a brokerage sweep rather than a savings account. Robinhood Banking, a different product, is offered by Robinhood Money, LLC.

Robinhood Cash Sweep And Its Program Banks

A sweep automatically moves uninvested cash into bank deposits, and Robinhood's sweep splits a Gold member's cash at $10,000, paying one rate on both parts. Up to that amount the cash stays at Robinhood Securities as free credit under SIPC, which covers broker failure only. Anything above goes through IntraFi to 15 program banks, with FDIC insurance up to $248,000 per bank.

Program banks pay Robinhood a fee on the daily balance, and the size of that fee affects the rate investors earn.

Take $10,000 in cash left uninvested for a year. Without Gold it earns $0, and with Gold it earns about $360, or $310 after the $50 fee. In a Robinhood IRA, the same $10,000 earns $0 with or without Gold.

Account Types And Retirement

Robinhood covers basic personal accounts and two IRA types, with nothing for the self-employed, education or health savings.

Individual (taxable)Yes, $0 minimum, $0 fee
JointYes. Options level is the lower of the two owners
Traditional IRAYes, self-directed or managed, custodian Robinhood Securities, no IRA fee
Roth IRAYes, same terms
Rollover IRANo separate type. Rollovers go into a Traditional or Roth IRA
SEP IRA And SIMPLE IRANot offered
Solo 401(k)Not offered
Custodial (UTMA/UGMA)Yes. Minimum and fee are not disclosed
TrustYes, same terms as custodial
HSA And 529Not offered

A Robinhood IRA holds stocks and ETFs, while spot crypto and the High-Yield Cash Program are barred and options stop at Level 2.

Robinhood IRA Match And Its Clawbacks

Robinhood adds 1% to eligible IRA deposits, covering contributions, transfers and 401(k) rollovers with no cap. With Gold, annual contributions from an external linked bank account earn 3% instead.

Each match becomes the investor's to keep only after five years. Money that leaves the IRA inside that window triggers an early removal fee equal to the amount credited on it, and transfers out or required minimum distributions count as leaving. Canceling Gold within a year of the first qualifying contribution costs 2/3 of the Gold match. Inherited and managed IRAs do not qualify.

A $100,000 rollover brings $1,000 from Robinhood. Moving that IRA to another broker in year four hands the $1,000 back and adds the $100 transfer fee.

Order Execution And Payment For Order Flow

Robinhood is paid by the market makers that fill its stock and options orders, which is called payment for order flow (PFOF). Its Form CRS, the plain-language summary brokers give investors, says the firm has “an incentive to route orders to market centers that pay or rebate us.” The figures come from its Rule 606 reports, the quarterly SEC-required filings showing where orders went and what the broker was paid.

Citadel Securities took more than 40% of Robinhood Financial's options orders in four of the first six months of 2026, peaking at 45.66% in June, with Dash/IMC second at 24% to 32%. Virtu Americas took 47.18% of S&P 500 stock orders in January and 33.45% in June.

Order types cover market, limit, stop, stop limit and trailing stop, with no bracket, market-on-close or market-on-open orders. Extended hours run from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET around the regular session, and the 24 Hour Market trades select stocks and ETFs from Sunday 8 p.m. to Friday 8 p.m. ET. The Rule 606 reports leave out that overnight session, along with fractional, dollar-based and recurring orders. Trades from the Aug. 5, 2024, overnight session were canceled after Blue Ocean ATS, which ran the session, suspended trading.

Robinhood's own Q2 2026 figures, compiled by S3 Matching Technologies, claim $6.11 per 100 shares in price improvement, meaning fills better than the best quoted price, and 96.36% of shares filled at that price or better. No broker-level Rule 605 report, the monthly execution-quality filing, is due yet.

How Robinhood Makes Money From Order Flow

The payment schedule held steady between Q1 and Q2 2026. Market makers paid 12.35% of the spread on regular-hours stock orders, 9% in extended hours and $0.0006 a share overnight. They paid $0.15 to $1.20 per options contract depending on the symbol's spread, and nothing on index options.

Robinhood Securities reported order-flow income of $363.5 million in Q1 and $498.4 million in Q2 2026, with options at $272.9 million and $356.6 million. Robinhood Securities passes 80% of that income to Robinhood Financial. Crypto is left out of the Rule 606 reports, and the 0.95% crypto rebate inside the spread rose from 0.85% on June 15, 2026.

Is Robinhood Safe? SIPC, Entities And Regulatory Record

SIPC, the Securities Investor Protection Corporation, steps in only if Robinhood Financial or Robinhood Securities fails, replacing up to $500,000 of missing securities and cash per customer, with cash capped at $250,000. Price drops get no cover, and coins at Robinhood Crypto, LLC and futures at Robinhood Derivatives, LLC fall outside SIPC.

RoleEntityProtection
Introducing brokerRobinhood Financial LLC, CRD 165998SIPC member, broker failure only
Clearing firm, custodian and IRA custodianRobinhood Securities, LLC, CRD 287900SIPC member, broker failure only
Spot cryptoRobinhood Crypto, LLCNot SIPC, not FDIC. NYDFS licensed
Futures and event contractsRobinhood Derivatives, LLCNot SIPC. CFTC-registered
Gold subscriptionRobinhood Gold, LLCNone, it sells a service
Gold cash above $10,00015 IntraFi program banksFDIC, up to $248,000 per bank
BankingRobinhood Money, LLCSeparate product outside the brokerage
ParentRobinhood Markets, Inc. (Nasdaq: HOOD)Owns both broker-dealers

If a broker fails, brokerage holdings rely on SIPC first and then on excess insurance above it, which totals $1 billion and is capped at $50 million per customer, of which $1.9 million can be cash. At Dec. 31, 2025, Robinhood Securities held $4.49 billion set aside for customers, apart from its own assets, and $3.16 billion more net capital than its required minimum.

Dec. 4, 2025, Florida OFRBrokerage. Tens of thousands of complaints not reported to FINRA. $200,000, final
2023 to 2025, NASAA multistateBrokerage. March 2020 outages and options approvals. $9.5 million across 47 orders on BrokerCheck, up to $10.2 million per NASAA. Final
March 6, 2025, FINRABrokerage, both broker-dealers. 8.7 million orders canceled by collaring, meaning price limits Robinhood placed on orders without telling customers. AML gaps that missed account takeovers, improper ACATS rejections. $26 million fine and $3.75 million restitution, final
Jan. 13, 2025, SECBrokerage, both broker-dealers. Blue-sheet misreporting, meaning errors in the trade data brokers must hand regulators, across at least 392 million transactions. Late suspicious activity reports, a 2021 cybersecurity gap. $45 million, final
Sept. 4, 2024, California AGCrypto. Customers could not withdraw crypto from 2018 to 2022 and had to sell. $3.9 million, final
Jan. 18, 2024, MassachusettsBrokerage. Game-like app features, options approvals, the 2021 breach. $7.5 million, final
Aug. 2, 2022, NYDFSCrypto. AML, transaction monitoring and cybersecurity failures. $30 million, final
March 16, 2022, VermontBrokerage. Options. $640,000, final
2026, Wisconsin and KentuckyDerivatives. State suits over sports event contracts, pending
September 2026, Connecticut and MissouriDerivatives. Cease-and-desist orders on sports event contracts

Brokerage fines over five years total $88.6 million. Robinhood's own quarterly filing lists four open investigations. The New York Attorney General is examining execution quality and the collaring of order prices. Massachusetts is examining how Robinhood Financial supervises complaints, the August 2024 overnight outage and event contracts. FINRA is examining the same outage, and the FDIC is investigating compliance with electronic fund transfer rules. BrokerCheck shows none of them, because it lists only formal actions. A class action over its order routing was settled, with court approval in June 2026. A November 2021 social-engineering attack exposed about 5 million email addresses and 2 million names, and account takeovers from 2020 to 2022 ended in a settlement of about $20 million in May 2023.

The biggest fines fell on the two broker-dealers that hold investor accounts, for failures in order handling, regulatory reporting and supervision. For an investor, none of the four open investigations is a finding yet, and none changes SIPC's cover, which applies only if a broker fails.

Platform, Apps And Research Tools

Robinhood runs on a mobile app, a standard web version and Robinhood Legend, a browser-based platform built for charting. Stock screeners come preset or custom, and ETF pages show the expense ratio and assets with no holdings list. Robinhood offers no paper trading and lists no third-party research provider, and labels its Cortex AI tool as something that “shouldn't be viewed as research.” Its only API is for crypto trading.

On the App Store, Robinhood rates 4.29 on 4,847,149 ratings, and 36% of the 50 newest reviews gave one or two stars. Google Play shows 4.6 on 574,458 ratings, with 19.8% one or two stars among the 4,000 newest reviews. The monthly one- and two-star share on Play ran at 42% to 44% in July and fell to about 9% in September. Review volume roughly tripled in September, mostly with short five-star reviews.

Robinhood Legend: The Desktop Platform

Legend carries its own charts and indicators. Crypto orders placed there always use exchange routing, so they pay the tiered exchange-routing fee instead of the spread.

Opening, Funding And Withdrawals

Accounts need a US residential address and a Social Security number, with no minimum. Funding runs by free ACH transfer, free incoming wire or debit card. Robinhood does not accept checks for non-retirement accounts.

An ACH deposit can take up to five business days to clear for trading. Once the transfer settles, the money must stay put for five more business days before it can be withdrawn. Wires are usable on receipt. Instant deposits let an investor trade up to $1,000 or twice the portfolio value, whichever is greater, before the money arrives.

Closing A Robinhood Account: Fees, Holds And What Cannot Transfer

Each ACATS transfer out costs $100, fractional shares cannot move, and crypto has to go on-chain because ACATS cannot carry it. Coins left behind after a full ACATS transfer are sold after five months. Any IRA match credited in the last five years is taken back when the money leaves, and a recent ACH deposit stays locked until its hold ends.

Support And Complaints

Support runs through in-app chat around the clock and a callback service that usually rings within 30 minutes. No inbound phone line serves brokerage accounts, and investing callbacks run 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. ET on weekdays. Robinhood has no stated escalation desk. Complaints can go to FINRA, and each broker-dealer's record is on BrokerCheck.

Florida's December 2025 order found Robinhood Financial failed to report tens of thousands of complaints to FINRA.

About 166 one- and two-star Google Play reviews posted between May and September 2026 complained of support that could not be reached or answered only by bot, and 40 of them mentioned a bot. About 12 of the 40 newest one-star Trustpilot reviews say the same. About 20 Play reviews describe accounts restricted or closed without a stated reason, about 118 mention deposit holds or reversed instant deposits, and 12 report unexpected Gold charges. Robinhood retired its status page, which now points investors to the @AskRobinhood account on X.

Robinhood Alternatives

Two of the four pay interest on cash with no subscription, and two add products Robinhood does not sell.

FidelityCash in a money market fund with no subscription, spot crypto and a Crypto IRA. Only five coins, at a 1% crypto fee
Charles SchwabThe thinkorswim platform and every IRA type, including an Individual 401(k). Cash earns 0.01% APY, and transfers out cost $50
VanguardA money market fund as default cash, the highest default cash rate of the four. No spot crypto and a 7-calendar-day deposit hold
Webull$0 options contracts, with mutual funds and Treasuries. Cash earns 0% until the investor opts in, and 3.6% needs the $40 Premium plan

Broker Pillar Scores

  • Investments & account choice 28% weight Available securities, fractional investing, crypto access, account types, eligibility, and product restrictions within each account.
    7.0 / 10
  • Safety, custody & transparency 20% weight Serving entities, asset custody, investor protections, account security, regulatory record, and clarity of terms and conflicts.
    6.0 / 10
  • Fees & cash returns 18% weight Trading, margin, currency conversion, account and exit costs, plus default cash yields, subscription charges, and eligibility.
    5.0 / 10
  • Execution & order handling 10% weight Execution prices, fill rates, speed, order controls, routing, payment for order flow, and relevant trading sessions.
    5.0 / 10
  • Platform, tools & research 10% weight Web and app usability, reliability, portfolio records, research, screeners, and tools relevant to the intended investor.
    6.0 / 10
  • Funding, withdrawals & transfers 8% weight Opening minimums, deposit availability for trading and withdrawal, settlement, holds, payout timing, and account transfers.
    5.0 / 10
  • Support & issue resolution 6% weight Human support availability, response quality, urgent account help, and escalation of unresolved cases.
    5.0 / 10
Robinhood

Final Verdict

Robinhood suits investors who trade often from one app and either keep their cash invested or pay for Gold. Without Gold, cash earns nothing. The IRA clawbacks and the $100 exit fee cost most for investors who move their IRA, and four open investigations are still unresolved.

Robinhood
Overall Score
5.9 / 10
Fair

Best For

Mobile investors who mix stocks, options and crypto

Avoid If

  • You hold uninvested cash and will not pay for a subscription
Affiliate Disclosure

Disclaimer: CryptoSlate may receive a commission when you click links on our site and make a purchase or complete an action with a third party. This does not influence our editorial independence, reviews, or ratings, and we always aim to provide accurate, transparent information to our readers.

FAQ

Is Robinhood safe?

Robinhood Financial and Robinhood Securities are SIPC members, so SIPC covers up to $500,000 per customer if either broker fails, though not losses from falling prices. Excess insurance adds up to $50 million per customer, while coins at Robinhood Crypto, LLC have no SIPC coverage. Robinhood’s own quarterly filing lists four open investigations.

What does Robinhood charge?

Robinhood’s main charges are Gold at $5 a month or $50 a year, $0.50 per index option contract, $100 to transfer holdings to another broker, $25 per outgoing wire and up to 1.75% for instant withdrawals. Online stock, ETF and equity-option trades cost $0. Default-route crypto trades carry $0.95 per $100 inside the spread.

What interest does Robinhood pay on cash?

None without Gold. With Gold, uninvested cash in taxable accounts earns 3.6% APY. IRA cash earns 0% in every case.

Can I buy crypto or Bitcoin ETFs on Robinhood?

Yes. Spot crypto comes from Robinhood Crypto, LLC, which offers 90 coins for trading. The brokerage carries 56 spot crypto ETFs, every spot Bitcoin fund among them. Robinhood does not confirm, fund by fund, that it will accept an order.

Can I hold crypto in a Robinhood IRA?

No. Robinhood states that “Products and services offered by Robinhood Crypto, LLC, are not available in an IRA.” Its IRAs can hold stocks and ETFs, and Robinhood does not say which crypto ETFs qualify.

Is Robinhood Gold worth it?

Gold covers its $50 annual fee once taxable cash averages about $1,389 at 3.6% APY. With less cash, or only an IRA, its value is the 3% contribution match, $150 more than the standard 1% on $7,500. That match comes back out if the money leaves within five years, and canceling Gold within a year costs 2/3 of it.

What is the $100 fee on Robinhood?

It is the fee Robinhood charges each time holdings move to another broker through ACATS, the industry’s account-transfer system, whether the transfer is full or partial. Fractional shares cannot move that way, and coins leave only on-chain.

Is Robinhood FDIC insured?

No, apart from Gold cash above $10,000. That portion reaches FDIC-insured program banks, while everything else at the brokerage has SIPC protection only against a broker failure. Crypto has neither form of protection.