- Stocks from 25 foreign markets, traded directly
- Spot crypto with on-chain withdrawals
- Every IRA type, plus a linked Crypto IRA
Fidelity Overview
- Broker Name
- Fidelity
- Broker Type
- Full-Service + Self-Directed
- Main Products
- Stocks, ETFs, Fractional Shares, Options, Mutual Funds, Bonds / Treasuries, International, Spot Crypto, Crypto ETFs
- Stock / ETF Commission
- $0 online for US stocks and most ETFs
- Options Fee
- $0.65 per contract, plus $0.14–$0.50 on index options
- Default Cash Yield
- Sep 2026: SPAXX 3.41% 7-day, FCASH 1.94% or FZFXX; choice at opening, default unstated
- Transfer-Out Fee
- $0
- Account Minimum
- $0
- Spot Crypto
- Fidelity Digital Assets, National Association; five assets observed September 23, 2026
- Crypto ETF Access
- Spot crypto ETFs listed; DIA and Most Aggressive objective required; eligibility varies
- Retirement Accounts
- Traditional, Roth, Rollover, SEP, SIMPLE, Solo 401(k)
- Protection
- SIPC via FBS and NFS for broker failure, not market loss, plus excess SIPC. Crypto: not SIPC
- Regulator / CRD
- SEC and FINRA, FBS CRD 7784, NFS CRD 13041. Crypto bank: OCC
- Subscription
- None
Fidelity Screenshots
Fidelity Pros and Cons
Pros
- No brokerage, IRA, inactivity or transfer-out fee
- Direct trading in 25 foreign markets
- Spot crypto with on-chain withdrawals
- Every IRA type, HSA, 529 and a Crypto IRA
- 0 pending BrokerCheck events at FBS and NFS
Cons
- You pick the cash option, with no stated default
- Check and EFT deposits wait 7 business days
- 1% crypto fee, network-fee surplus kept
- 12.075% margin rate on balances under $25,000
- No futures, no staking, no spot XRP
Is Fidelity Worth It?
The cash choice at opening outweighs any trading fee here, since SPAXX pays 1.47 points more than FCASH.
Long-term US investors, IRA savers above all, get the most from Fidelity. Direct trading in 25 foreign markets and over 10,000 mutual funds make access its edge.
Idle cash earns whatever core position you picked at opening, because Fidelity does not say which option is the default. A new EFT or check deposit also waits about a week before online trading, and investors who need same-day buying power should compare alternatives.
Choose Fidelity for one login across long-term investing and retirement, with crypto held in linked separate accounts. Look past it if you need futures or staking, or deposits that trade the same day.
Who Fidelity Suits And Who Should Skip It
Fidelity fits investors who hold for years and save through IRAs, and it fits least where speed matters, from same-day funding to fast trading tools.
Long-term and retirement investors fit Fidelity well, and cash-heavy accounts do too once they pick SPAXX over FCASH.
Active traders miss futures, and crypto buyers get only five coins.
What You Can Invest In At Fidelity
Fidelity offers nearly every major type of security a US retail investor uses, plus direct access to foreign exchanges. Futures are the one missing class.
Investors who trade futures need a second broker, and an IRA reaches foreign shares only through US-dollar orders via a representative.
Crypto At Fidelity: Spot Crypto And Crypto ETFs
Spot crypto at Fidelity is a bank product, and Fidelity Digital Assets, National Association holds the coins and sells them under its own agreement. That national trust bank is owned by FMR LLC. Crypto ETFs trade in the brokerage like any other fund.
Fidelity Crypto: Coins, Fees And Transfers
Of the five assets Fidelity Crypto offers, four are Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC) and Solana (SOL). The fifth is Fidelity's own stablecoin, Fidelity Digital Dollar (FIDD). Trading runs 23 hours a day with market and limit orders only. Crypto exchanges list far more coins than these five, as our Coinbase exchange review shows.
The fee is an explicit 1.00% on every buy and sell, with no fee on FIDD-to-dollar swaps and no custody fee. Before Dec. 4, 2025, the same 1% was built into the price as a spread.
On-chain deposits and withdrawals work in the taxable crypto account after an ID scan and selfie, and a new withdrawal address activates in two to three business days. Withdrawals cap at $2,000 a day, or $25,000 with an authenticator app. The withdrawal fee is a quoted network fee, and Fidelity Digital Assets “will retain the amount, if any, by which the Quoted Network Fee exceeds the actual network fees.”
Fidelity Crypto serves all 50 states and DC but not Guam, Puerto Rico or the US Virgin Islands. Oregon residents cannot buy SOL. The account is funded from a linked Fidelity brokerage account.
Fidelity Crypto IRA
The Fidelity Crypto IRA is a distinct Fidelity Digital Assets account linked to a brokerage IRA, with Fidelity Management Trust Company as custodian. Investors can open it as a Traditional or Roth IRA, or as a Rollover IRA, and it holds the same four coins. Opening and maintaining the account costs nothing, and each trade carries the 1% trading fee. It is not available in California or Oregon, and coins cannot move in or out.
What Fidelity Crypto Does Not Offer: XRP And Staking
Fidelity Crypto lists no spot XRP and offers neither staking nor crypto futures. Spot XRP and staking are both available at many crypto exchanges open to US investors. At Fidelity, XRP exposure comes only through five spot XRP ETFs.
Bitcoin And Crypto ETFs At Fidelity
Fidelity lists nearly every US spot crypto ETF, every spot Bitcoin ETF included, and issues three of them, FBTC, FETH and FSOL. Only those three had order acceptance confirmed in brokerage accounts and IRAs. The rest show Buy and Sell buttons.
| Asset | Spot ETFs Listed At Fidelity | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Bitcoin | 13 of 13 | FBTC confirmed for purchase and IRA-eligible |
| Ethereum | 11 of 12 | FETH confirmed. Legacy CETH ticker not listed |
| Solana | 9 of 10 | FSOL confirmed. OSOL not listed |
| XRP | 5 of 5 | XRP, GXRP, XRPZ, TOXR and XRPC listed |
| Other altcoins | 20 of 22 | NRR and GBNB not listed |
Fidelity requires a signed agreement and a “Most Aggressive” investment objective for spot crypto ETPs. In its words, “Placing an order for the Fidelity® Wise Origin® Bitcoin Fund, the Fidelity® Ethereum Fund, and similar spot crypto ETP products requires investors to execute Fidelity's Designated Investments Agreement (DIA).”
For IRAs, Fidelity lists its own three funds and covers the rest with “you may invest in spot crypto ETPs.” Fidelity does not say whether any crypto ETF, FBTC included, can be bought in fractions. No spot crypto ETF carries Fidelity's ETF service fee.
Costs: What You Actually Pay At Fidelity
$0 online stock and ETF commissions are the US standard. The costs that set brokers apart are in options and margin, and in outside funds and crypto.
Someone who buys US stocks and most ETFs and skips non-NTF funds pays almost nothing in broker fees here.
Fidelity Options Fees
Online options cost $0.65 per contract with exercise and assignment free of charge. Buying to close a contract priced at $0.65 or less costs nothing. Index options add a per-contract surcharge of $0.50 on SPX, $0.45 on NDX, $0.35 on XEO, $0.30 on OEX and VIX, $0.15 on RUT and $0.14 on DJX. A Fidelity-set fee of “$0.02 to $0.04 per contract” offsets the Options Regulatory Fee and may exceed it.
Fidelity Margin Rates
The base rate is 10.825%, and Fidelity's clearing firm, National Financial Services (NFS), charges interest on a 360-day year.
A $10,000 loan held for a year costs about $1,208 at the smallest tier, and the steepest drop comes at $500,000.
What This Table Does Not Include
Fidelity as a broker never bills a fund's expense ratio, even on funds it issues such as FBTC and SPAXX, since the fund deducts it itself.
Costs That Do Not Show On The Fee Page
- Sells carry a discretionary “Additional Assessment,” “Typically … $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal,” which “may differ from or exceed” the fees it offsets.
- The ETF service fee is “5% of the trade value, capped at $100” on Fidelity's list of affected ETFs, and other Fidelity pages call it “$100” or “up to $100.”
- Currency conversion costs up to 1.0% on international trades under $100,000.
- Fidelity Digital Assets keeps any crypto network-fee surplus.
Uninvested Cash: What It Earns And Who Holds It
Fidelity's own pages list the cash options without stating a default, and for taxable accounts they call SPAXX, FZFXX and FCASH “the options available to you at the time you open your account.” Customer reports and press coverage say new taxable accounts land in SPAXX. Retirement accounts choose between SPAXX and the FDIC-Insured Deposit Sweep, and you can change the choice later.
Fidelity Core Position: SPAXX, FZFXX, FCASH And The FDIC Sweep
SPAXX, the Fidelity Government Money Market Fund, is the one core position every account type can choose. Taxable accounts can pick FZFXX or FCASH instead, while IRAs and the Cash Management Account can pick the sweep.
Fidelity's customer agreement states that “the core option specified in the account application may not always provide the highest yield,” and that it “earns more compensation when your funds are invested in products or services offered by an affiliate.”
SPAXX shares and FCASH are held at NFS, where SIPC covers them up to its limits if the broker fails, never a drop in value. Sweep cash is kept at FDIC-insured program banks. Money moved into Fidelity Crypto leaves the core position for a non-interest-bearing account at Citibank, N.A.
Fidelity Cash Management Account
Fidelity's closest product to a high-yield savings account is the Cash Management Account, a brokerage account with the FDIC sweep or SPAXX as its core, a $0 minimum and reimbursed ATM fees.
$10,000 in SPAXX at 3.41% earns about $341 over a year. The same $10,000 in FCASH at 1.94% earns about $194. The $147 gap assumes both 7-day yields hold for 12 months, which they rarely do.
Account Types And Retirement
Every account with a published price costs $0 to open and hold, except an HSA opened through an employer.
“You can't buy or sell spot cryptocurrencies in brokerage IRA accounts,” Fidelity states, so coins in a retirement account need the Crypto IRA.
Order Execution And Payment For Order Flow
Fidelity's Q1 2026 Rule 606 report, like its Q2 2025 and Q4 2025 reports, says Fidelity Brokerage Services (FBS) “does not receive payment for order flow” on stock orders. The Q2 2026 report states that FBS, through NFS, “receives payment for order flow (PFOF),” with payments from April 2026.
The Q2 report lists $0.0008 per share or less for marketable stock orders, which fill right away, and $0.003 for non-marketable ones that wait at a limit price. Single-leg options pay $0.30 to $0.50 per contract. Quarterly net payments, which include exchange rebates and fees, came to $83.01 million on options. Stocks added $23.11 million outside the S&P 500 and $4.07 million inside it.
In June 2026, S&P 500 orders went to Citadel (24.51%), Virtu (16.32%), G1 (14.40%) and NFS-owned CrossStream ATS (12.57%), which pays nothing for order flow.
Fidelity's execution page claims 95.37% of shares price-improved, from Q1 2026 statistics that predate the switch. Fidelity's Form CRS also omits payment for order flow, while the customer agreement says FBS and/or NFS “receives remuneration, compensation, or other consideration … for directing orders.” An iShares marketing program also “creates significant incentives for FBS to encourage customers to buy iShares funds.” FINRA fined NFS $175,000 in November 2024 for misreporting 606 data from January 2020 to July 2024.
Traders get market, limit, stop, trailing, OTO, OCO and OTOCO bracket orders. Extended hours take limit orders only, from 7:00 to 9:28 a.m. ET and 4:00 to 8:00 p.m. ET, with no overnight session.
Is Fidelity Safe? SIPC, Entities And Regulatory Record
Should FBS or NFS fail with customer assets missing, SIPC steps in up to its limits, and a falling market is never a claim. Crypto at Fidelity Digital Assets is neither SIPC-protected nor FDIC-insured.
| Role | Entity | Protection |
|---|---|---|
| Retail brokerage | Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC (CRD 7784) | SIPC and excess SIPC if the firm fails |
| Clearing and custody | National Financial Services LLC (CRD 13041) | SIPC and excess SIPC if the firm fails |
| Spot crypto, Crypto IRA assets | Fidelity Digital Assets, National Association | Not SIPC, not FDIC |
| Crypto account cash | Citibank, N.A. | FDIC-eligible |
| Crypto IRA custodian | Fidelity Management Trust Company | None stated |
| Parent | FMR LLC (private) | None |
Excess SIPC, which also pays only on broker failure, has a $1 billion total limit and a $1.9 million per-customer cash limit from an unnamed insurer. Crypto is held as UCC Article 8 financial assets, “not general assets” of Fidelity Digital Assets. Fidelity gives no cold-storage percentage or insurance figure and declines to share proof of reserves “for security reasons.” The OCC lists the crypto entity as an existing national trust bank in Decision #1367 of Feb. 20, 2026.
BrokerCheck shows 24 events for FBS and 47 for NFS, none pending. In August 2024 a third party used two new accounts to pull other customers' documents. Fidelity notified 77,099 people, and a $2.5 million class settlement was approved in July 2026 without admission of liability. The Customer Protection Guarantee repays unauthorized losses if you report within 30 days of a statement, though Fidelity does not say whether it covers crypto.
The record holds past control failures that drew fines and fixes, with no action pending. Shares at NFS have SIPC cover if the firm fails, and coins at Fidelity Digital Assets have none.
Platform, Apps And Research Tools
Investors trade on fidelity.com and Fidelity Trader+, the Active Trader Pro replacement, or on one mobile app with crypto. ETF pages show gross and net expense ratios and the premium or discount, and they also list holdings and the 30-day spread. Research providers are Not disclosed, and neither is paper trading or an API.
The iOS app rates 4.79 on 3,321,103 ratings, but 41% of the newest 500 reviews give the app 1 or 2 stars. Google Play shows 4.1 on 222,095 ratings, with 65% of the newest 600 giving 1 or 2 stars. Reviewers blame the August 2026 redesign for crashes and removed views, and about 110 app reviews describe login and Face ID loops.
Opening, Funding And Withdrawals
Opening a Fidelity account needs no minimum and is open to people in the US, and Fidelity Crypto requires US citizenship.
Fidelity gives check and EFT deposits a collection period of “generally 7 business days,” and wires and direct deposits none. Uncollected deposits are “unavailable for online trading.” Settled cash is the part of the core balance you can trade in a cash account without a good faith violation. Fidelity states no separate withdrawal hold, and instant-deposit limits are Not disclosed.
Closing an account carries no fee, since ACATS transfers and domestic wires out cost $0 and the IRA closeout fee is $0.
Support And Complaints
Fidelity answers by phone 24/7 at 800-343-3548 and by chat, and BrokerCheck lists 645 branch offices. Crypto chat is open Monday to Friday from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. ET, and disputes go to FBS, then FINRA arbitration, which does not cover the crypto bank.
About 35 Reddit posts and 17 of 79 recent Trustpilot reviews from Oct. 2025 to Sep. 2026 describe accounts restricted or closed with little explanation. About 17 of the same 79 criticize hold times and back-office teams, while frontline reps draw praise. About 15 Reddit posts from January to September 2026 describe deposit holds, such as 10- to 14-day EFT holds into a Cash Management Account and a $1,000 mobile-check limit on new accounts. Trustpilot shows 1.3 on 1,158 reviews.
Fidelity Alternatives
Each alternative addresses one Fidelity gap.
Vanguard's money market default settles the cash question but drops spot crypto, which suits investors who hold cash and no coins.
Broker Pillar Scores
- Investments & account choice 28% weight Available securities, fractional investing, crypto access, account types, eligibility, and product restrictions within each account.10.0 / 10
- Safety, custody & transparency 20% weight Serving entities, asset custody, investor protections, account security, regulatory record, and clarity of terms and conflicts.8.0 / 10
- Fees & cash returns 18% weight Trading, margin, currency conversion, account and exit costs, plus default cash yields, subscription charges, and eligibility.8.0 / 10
- Execution & order handling 10% weight Execution prices, fill rates, speed, order controls, routing, payment for order flow, and relevant trading sessions.7.0 / 10
- Platform, tools & research 10% weight Web and app usability, reliability, portfolio records, research, screeners, and tools relevant to the intended investor.7.0 / 10
- Funding, withdrawals & transfers 8% weight Opening minimums, deposit availability for trading and withdrawal, settlement, holds, payout timing, and account transfers.5.0 / 10
- Support & issue resolution 6% weight Human support availability, response quality, urgent account help, and escalation of unresolved cases.8.0 / 10
Final Verdict
Fidelity puts taxable accounts and every IRA type under one login, next to a linked crypto account, with no brokerage account or transfer-out fees, but the cash rate is a choice you make at opening and crypto is held at a separate bank at a 1% fee. Stock orders have also earned payment for order flow since Q2 2026, and Fidelity's published price-improvement figures predate that switch.
Best For
Buy-and-hold and IRA investors who want everything at one firm
Avoid If
- You fund by EFT or check and need to trade the money that day
Disclaimer: CryptoSlate may receive a commission when you click links on our site and make a purchase or complete an action with a third party. This does not influence our editorial independence, reviews, or ratings, and we always aim to provide accurate, transparent information to our readers.
