Verified Review
Published Updated

Robinhood puts crypto purchases beside securities investing, with free standard ACH. Its two order-routing methods have different costs, and the interface you choose can change your fee.

Andrej Gjorgievski
Reviewed by
Nate Whitehill
Fact-checked by

Robinhood Overview

Crypto Exchange Name Robinhood
Parent Company Robinhood Markets, Inc.
Launch Year 2018
KYC Yes
Products Spot, Futures or Perps, Simple-buy Broker
Total Assets 90+
Staking Yes
Copy Trading No
Derivatives Yes
Proof of Reserves No
Trading Fees 0.00% - 0.95%
Maker Fee 0.02%

Additional details

Languages English
Payout Time Fiat: Instant - 1 day
Restricted Countries North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Ukraine, China, South Sudan, Sudan, Myanmar, Belarus, Venezuela

Robinhood Screenshots

Robinhood Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Free standard ACH deposits and withdrawals
  • Crypto trading available in all 50 states
  • Retail API with account-level permissions
  • Listed parent publishes audited financials

Cons

  • Entry exchange-routed taker fee is 0.95%
  • Market maker compensation sits in the spread
  • Staking deducts 25% of rewards
  • No public customer reserve-inclusion check

Quick Decision: Is Robinhood Worth It?

Robinhood offers U.S. crypto trading within the same app used for stocks, but the crypto account has different custody and protections. Standard purchases and exchange-routed orders also use different pricing, so commission-free marketing describes only one route. This Robinhood review evaluates the U.S. custodial crypto account, including its bank connection and the tools available after a first purchase.

Robinhood desktop referral page offering up to $15K in stock for inviting friends who fund an account
Robinhood desktop referral page offering up to $15K in stock for inviting friends who fund an account

Robinhood makes sense for a U.S. investor who wants a modest crypto allocation beside securities and can fund by bank transfer. The same app offers advanced charts, a trading ladder and exchange routing on supported assets.

Cost depends on the route and volume tier. At the entry exchange-routing tier, a $1,000 order has a $5 maker fee or $9.50 taker fee before market spread and price movement. A limit order only earns maker pricing when it qualifies under the routing rules. Users seeking another shared simple-buy and advanced account can compare the Coinbase fees and platform review.

Who Robinhood Is Best For And Who Should Skip It

Robinhood's existing brokerage relationship can simplify account management, but the available coin and interface should decide whether a trade belongs there.

Beginner Buying First CryptoUseful for a small bank-funded purchase after inspecting the quote
Fee-Sensitive Spot TraderMixed. Routing and volume affect costs, with a substantial entry taker charge
Derivatives TraderGood fit for standard ACH, provided funds are withdrawable
User Who Needs Bank Cash-OutConfirm the coin. Trading, charting and transfer lists are not interchangeable
Altcoin HunterLimited — roughly 130 coins, thin long tail
Staking / Earn UserETH, SOL and ADA staking. USDG lending uses a separate self-custody arrangement
Low-KYC UserPoor fit. Identity verification and transfer checks are required
User Who Wants Cleaner Tax ExportsConsolidated tax delivery and crypto records help, but external cost basis may need correction

The account is less suitable if you need to buy any asset shown on a price screen. Robinhood also displays market data for coins that cannot be traded there.

Robinhood agentic page showing Agentic Trading and an AI agent credit card with 3% cash back
Robinhood agentic page showing Agentic Trading and an AI agent credit card with 3% cash back

Features And Services

Robinhood's standard app, web classic and Legend do not expose identical execution options. In particular, choosing Legend changes how a supported crypto order is routed.

Main App Or Broker FlowDefault market maker routing, with exchange routing available for supported coins
Advanced Or Pro TradingMobile charts and ladder, plus Legend. Coin access and routing rules vary
Wallet Or Web3 ToolsStandalone Robinhood Wallet and a separate integrated self-custody wallet for Earn
CardCredit and spending products are separate from the custodial crypto account
Earn, Staking, Or LendingCustodial ETH, SOL and ADA staking. Earn routes USDG into onchain lending
Derivatives Or LeverageU.S. futures through Robinhood Derivatives. International perpetuals are a different service

Futures require separate approval after opening a Robinhood Crypto account. Banking, credit cards and Wallet swaps also have their own providers and terms.

Supported Assets And Markets

On September 8, 2026, Robinhood's U.S. availability table listed 90 assets tradable through market maker routing. Of those, 66 were marked for exchange routing in the app and on Legend. A separate list showed 45 view-only assets.

Listed Assets90 market-maker-routed assets in the dated U.S. table, before state exclusions
Number Of Markets66 assets marked for exchange routing. These are asset counts, not a global pair count
Fiat CurrenciesUSD for the U.S. crypto account
StablecoinsUSDG and USDC have state restrictions. USDT appears in the view-only list
Blocked Markets In The USMultiple assets excluded in New York. USDC and USDG restrictions include Texas

The published page places ZRX in both the trading table and the view-only list. Because those entries conflict, confirm its trade button before transferring money specifically to buy it. Neither list includes all assets reachable through the standalone Wallet.

Robinhood Legend desktop trading tools with multi-monitor candlestick charts and technical indicators
Robinhood Legend desktop trading tools with multi-monitor candlestick charts and technical indicators

Liquidity, Order Types, And Trading Limits

Market maker routing sends orders to non-exchange liquidity providers. Exchange routing uses partners including EDX Markets and Bitstamp. Resting limit orders normally use Bitstamp, which Robinhood Crypto identifies as an affiliate. Another exchange may receive the order when enough price improvement offsets a taker fee.

Market and stop orders incur taker fees on the tiered route. Limit and stop-limit orders can also execute as takers. A resting order may miss a price available on a different exchange, so the fee classification alone does not establish execution quality.

Robinhood's published position limits use acquisition cost: $50 million per coin for BTC, ETH, DOGE, PEPE, SHIB and XRP, and $20 million for other coins. Market appreciation can take a position above that cost-basis amount. These are holding limits, not permission to withdraw the same amount in a day.

Margin And Derivatives

The scored Robinhood Crypto account supplies spot ownership, not leveraged spot borrowing. U.S. crypto futures use Robinhood Derivatives LLC and separate approval, contract and margin requirements. Products advertised for European perpetual traders do not establish access for a U.S. customer.

The Kraken trading-tools assessment separates spot and derivatives eligibility. Check whether the specific contract is available to your account before comparing costs or margin requirements.

Staking And Rewards

Robinhood supports staking ETH, SOL and ADA from small balances. The quoted reward rate changes with the protocol, and staking can prevent an immediate sale or transfer.

Available AssetsETH, SOL and ADA, from as little as $1
Headline Yield RangeVariable protocol rates, less applicable fees
Platform CommissionCombined Robinhood and partner deduction totals 25% of rewards
Payout FrequencyCoin-specific. Reward history and upcoming payouts are shown in staking settings
Unstaking / UnbondingProtocol-dependent bonding and exit periods can last weeks
Regional LimitsUnavailable in California, Maryland, New Jersey and Wisconsin. Tax-status restrictions also apply

The partner fee is included within the combined deduction. ETH batching can deliver 50%–100% of the protocol rate before the 25% commission, according to Robinhood's staking help. For Cardano and its ADA token, rewards begin after a 15-day bonding period on Robinhood. These platform conditions differ from direct participation through another wallet.

Robinhood Crypto page promoting 24/7 trading of BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL, DOGE and SHIB from $1
Robinhood Crypto page promoting 24/7 trading of BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL, DOGE and SHIB from $1

Robinhood Earn moves USDG from the custodial account into an integrated user-controlled wallet and then a Morpho lending vault. Withdrawals can be requested without a fixed lockup, but insufficient vault liquidity can delay them. New York and Texas users cannot access this USDG-based feature, and the lending balance is not a bank deposit. The described insurance protects Robinhood, with no direct customer claim or guarantee against lending losses.

Card

Robinhood's credit cards and spending products have separate eligibility and agreements. Rewards follow those product terms. A cash reward redeemable into an investing account is not automatically a cryptocurrency reward.

Wallet And Self-Custody Options

Crypto bought in the main account stays in Robinhood's custody until transferred. The standalone Robinhood Wallet is a separate app with user-controlled assets. Earn creates another self-custody wallet within the main app, so those two wallet products should not be treated as one balance.

Exporting the Earn wallet makes it read-only within Robinhood and prevents new lending through that wallet in the interface. The self-custody wallet directory can help compare recovery arrangements before moving assets outside a custodial account.

API And Programmatic Trading

Robinhood exposes a retail Crypto Trading API with credentials that restrict permitted actions. The version used for an order changes its pricing route and whether volume counts toward a tier.

REST APIV1 and V2 provide market, account and order access
WebSocketA public Crypto Trading API WebSocket service is not disclosed
SandboxA public crypto trading sandbox is not disclosed
Order Types SupportedVersion- and endpoint-dependent. V2 supports fee-tier orders, while V1 uses non-fee-tier orders
Key ControlsAccount-created keys with selected API actions

Executed V2 tiered orders count toward qualifying volume. V1 orders do not. The fee-tier help page says V2 orders receive taker pricing until maker/taker rollout is complete, so a bot should not assume that placing a limit order earns the lower rate.

Robinhood Strategies expert-managed portfolio shown on mobile with a portfolio allocation dial
Robinhood Strategies expert-managed portfolio shown on mobile with a portfolio allocation dial

Fees And Pricing

Robinhood's commission-free route still has an execution cost. Its June 15, 2026 disclosure says market makers pay Robinhood $0.95 for each $100 of executed notional volume, included in the spread. That payment is not an additional commission separately charged to you, nor is it a fixed guarantee of the total spread.

Simple Buy Or SellMarket maker routing has no commission. Compare the bid or ask with the chart's midpoint
Advanced Maker Or TakerExchange routing entry: 0.50% maker and 0.95% taker below $10,000 qualifying volume, subject to rollout
Card DepositAccount-level debit transfers and Robinhood Connect use separate rules. Connect's disclosed card range is 0%–1.5%
Bank TransferStandard ACH has no Robinhood fee. Eligible instant cash-out can cost 1.75%
Crypto WithdrawalNo additional Robinhood transfer fee. Network charges apply
Staking / Earn CommissionStaking deducts a combined 25% of rewards. Self-custodial Earn has separate economics

Exchange routing charges a transaction fee instead of paying Robinhood a market maker rebate. The received amount after all charges is the useful comparison, not which route has a zero in its commission column.

Hidden Costs To Watch On Robinhood

The chart's midpoint is not the price at which a buy or sell is guaranteed to execute.

  • A market-maker-routed trade does not earn progress toward exchange-routing fee tiers.
  • Opening a trade from Legend or the mobile ladder selects exchange routing where available.
  • A limit order may take liquidity and incur the taker charge.
  • Instant cash-out can add a fee even though standard ACH is free.
  • Staking exit periods can leave an asset unavailable to sell during price changes.

Fund through standard ACH if avoiding transfer charges is the priority. Then compare available order routes on the coin you intend to trade, including the fee shown at order placement.

VIP Tiers And Fee Discounts

Robinhood reduces exchange-routing fees with trailing 30-day qualifying volume. These reductions do not require owning a house token or paying for Gold.

Below $10,0000.50% / 0.95%
$10,000 To Below $50,0000.35% / 0.75%
$50,000 To Below $250,0000.125% / 0.25%
$250,000 To Below $500,0000.075% / 0.15%
$500,000 To Below $1 Million0.06% / 0.125%
$1 Million To Below $5 Million0.04% / 0.10%
$5 Million To Below $10 Million0.02% / 0.04%
$10 Million To Below $25 Million0.01% / 0.03%
$25 Million Or More0.00% / 0.03%

Tier upgrades normally remain locked for seven days and apply to the next order after the qualifying execution. Maker/taker availability is still being rolled out, so the fee displayed for the account takes precedence over assuming that every published tier is already usable.

Deposits, Withdrawals, KYC And Availability

Instant buying power can arrive before a bank deposit settles. External transfers require withdrawable funds, even when a recent deposit can already be traded.

Bank TransferStandard deposits can take up to 5 business days. Daily limits are shown before submission and may vary
CardDebit transfers have account-specific eligibility and limits. They are not the same product as Robinhood Connect
PayPal / Third-Party WalletNo ordinary U.S. crypto-account PayPal funding method is disclosed
Crypto WithdrawalIdentity and security approval required. Account-specific withdrawal limits, with no published maximum for crypto deposits

Robinhood's general transfer table lists ACH deposits up to $500,000 and withdrawals up to $250,000, but individual limits can be lower. Check Transfers before funding. For 60 days after a deposit, withdrawing to a different source account can require extra verification.

What US Users Need To Check Before Signing Up

Robinhood Crypto serves all U.S. states through a mapped legal entity. The important exceptions affect specific coins and execution tools after the account is open.

US Operating EntityRobinhood Crypto LLC, NMLS 1702840, with a New York virtual-currency license
States With RestrictionsNew York and Texas have token restrictions. Exchange routing is unavailable in North Carolina
Spot Trading AccessBasic crypto trading across all 50 states, subject to asset eligibility
Bank Funding AccessACH and eligible account-specific transfer methods
Bank Cash-Out AccessFree standard ACH and eligible paid instant routes
Staking AvailabilityETH, SOL and ADA, excluding four states and certain tax statuses
Derivatives AvailabilitySeparate Robinhood Derivatives account and approval
Card AvailabilitySeparate credit or spending products, not native crypto-account spending

North Carolina's routing restriction does not mean crypto trading is entirely unavailable there. Likewise, approval for spot purchases does not establish staking eligibility.

Payment Rails, Networks, And Limits

Robinhood separates cash movement from onchain transfers. The bank account's daily limit is not the crypto withdrawal allowance, and neither follows directly from the maximum cost basis of a holding.

Fiat Rails By Region

The U.S. account uses dollar funding. Other Robinhood entities have their own currencies, bank partners and product restrictions.

USStandard ACH, eligible instant bank/debit transfers and account-specific wire access
EU Or EEASeparate European service with its own bank-transfer terms
UKSeparate U.K. account. U.S. crypto terms do not establish U.K. availability
RoWSeparate local services or no access, depending on jurisdiction

Robinhood lists one day for its standard ACH withdrawal processing, with receiving-bank policies able to extend delivery. Deposits can take up to five business days. Eligible instant withdrawals cost 1.75%, with a $1 minimum and $150 maximum per transaction. Settlement and account holds can still prevent submission.

Withdrawal Networks And Fees

Robinhood quotes a network charge when sending supported crypto. Check the receiving address and any tag before approving, because support cannot undo a confirmed send.

BTC On-ChainNetwork fee, with account review and required confirmations
ETH ERC-20Ethereum transfers and supported ERC-20 tokens. The token balance can cover the converted network charge
USDC NetworkArbitrum, Base, Ethereum, Optimism, Polygon and Solana are documented, subject to account eligibility
USDG NetworksEthereum, Solana and Robinhood Chain. State and network restrictions apply
Other Important NetworkNative routes exist for supported assets such as DOGE and XRP. Token-specific availability controls

Bitcoin's network mechanics determine onchain confirmations, while Robinhood handles account approval. Robinhood supports specified BTC addresses but excludes Lightning transfers and taproot addresses. Check compatibility before sending.

Verification Levels And Withdrawal Limits

Robinhood applies identity checks when opening the account and can require further verification to enable crypto transfers. A first approval is not a guarantee that later risk reviews will be unnecessary.

Account CreatedRequired personal and identity information must be accepted
Identity VerifiedCrypto trading enabled subject to account and asset eligibility
Payment Method VerifiedBank or debit verification can be required separately. Limits are visible in Transfers
Additional Review Or RestrictedEnabling crypto transfers can take up to 5 business days. New-device and security checks may restrict movement

Crypto withdrawal limits depend on verification, transaction history and other account factors. The product currently states no maximum deposit limit for crypto, but each transfer still needs the supported asset and network.

Is Robinhood Safe? Security, Custody And Proof Of Reserves

Robinhood account security features: data protection, fraud monitoring, multi-factor authentication and 24/7 support
Robinhood account security features: data protection, fraud monitoring, multi-factor authentication and 24/7 support

Robinhood combines a regulated U.S. crypto entity with a listed parent's financial reporting. That supports a disclosure-based trust assessment, but the crypto account is not insured like an eligible bank deposit or protected like securities held at a SIPC member.

Controls

Robinhood offers app-based authentication, passkeys on supported Apple devices and device monitoring. Withdrawal allowlisting restricts sends to approved addresses. New addresses and configuration changes have a 48-hour waiting period, while previously approved addresses remain usable. A newly trusted device can also trigger transfer checks. A user-configured anti-phishing code is not documented.

Custody And Insurance

Robinhood states that most customer coins are held offline and that it does not lend or borrow against ordinary crypto holdings. Its crime insurance covers a portion of custody assets against specified theft events, including cyber breaches. It is not a personal policy promising reimbursement for every loss.

Crypto at Robinhood Crypto is neither FDIC-insured nor SIPC-protected. Eligible brokerage cash and securities have separate arrangements, which do not extend to a coin merely because it appears in the same app.

Proof Of Reserves Or Audits

Robinhood Markets publishes annual audited financial statements and interim SEC reports. The customer agreement retains user ownership and separates customer crypto from assets used for Robinhood's own business. That is substantive corporate and custody disclosure, without a public tool for checking your balance in a Merkle-tree reserve snapshot.

Financial statements and customer reserve-inclusion checks answer different questions. The Gemini custody review covers another account with corporate disclosures and a dedicated trading interface.

Incidents And Remediation

Robinhood's November 2021 incident exposed customer information after an attacker socially engineered support staff. The company said the incident caused no financial loss to customers.

New York's financial regulator separately imposed a $30 million penalty on Robinhood Crypto in 2022 over compliance and cybersecurity deficiencies. The settlement required an independent consultant. These events limit a claim of a spotless record, even though neither establishes a new unresolved custody loss.

App, UX And Customer Support

Robinhood lets you move from a conventional purchase screen into advanced charts using the same balance. That navigation can also change the routing method and fee.

Robinhood sign-up page to create a login and confirm your country or region
Robinhood sign-up page to create a login and confirm your country or region

UI And Navigation

Web classic supports market maker routing. Legend uses exchange routing, and the mobile ladder follows that route too. Advanced mobile charts can fall back to market maker routing for assets ineligible for exchange routing. Inspect the order review instead of assuming the same charge follows you between screens.

Mobile App

The iOS and Android app handles funding, trading and crypto transfers. Advanced charts and the ladder add trade controls. The standalone Wallet has its own app and token selection.

Reliability And Status Page

Robinhood maintains a public status page covering service incidents. A status report can distinguish a platform interruption from an issue that requires account support.

Status Page QualityPublic component status and dated incident history
Outage CommunicationUpdates available through the status page and official support channels
Known Trading Or Transfer DelaysReviews, bank settlement and blockchain confirmations can delay access
Maintenance CommunicationCheck component notices before time-sensitive transfers

Allow for both an execution interruption and delayed movement when planning a time-sensitive trade. A platform-wide incident and an account review require different follow-up.

Customer Support

Robinhood offers 24/7 chat. General callback availability is narrower: the contact page lists 7 a.m.–9 p.m. ET on weekdays for investing features, excluding holidays, and says not every inquiry qualifies.

  • The help center covers common account and transfer questions.
  • Authenticated support keeps the inquiry tied to the account.
  • A dedicated phone resource handles Crypto, Spending and Cash Card issues.
  • Standalone Wallet questions use a separate support address.

Use account support to investigate a restriction or failed transfer. A confirmed onchain send remains irreversible, and protocol unstaking queues follow the network's release process.

Reporting And Tax Records

Robinhood supplies transaction records, crypto tax-lot tools and applicable tax forms. For 2025 activity, Form 1099-DA is included within its consolidated tax delivery. Crypto moved in from elsewhere can have missing cost basis, so reconcile those records before treating the form as a complete calculation of gains and losses.

Robinhood Category Scores

These scores highlight how this review performs in specific categories, with each score tailored to the focus of that category.

Category
Note
Score
Best for stock-and-crypto users who want a familiar U.S. app, but less compelling as a dedicated crypto exchange.
7.9
U.S. brokerage familiarity helps, but crypto-specific custody transparency and exchange depth are weaker than dedicated safety leaders.
8.0
Robinhood

Final Verdict

Robinhood earns 7.6/10 for its U.S. custodial crypto account. Audited public-company reporting, all-state basic trading and free standard ACH support the result. Entry trading costs and inconsistent asset access between interfaces limit its appeal for frequent traders. Choose Robinhood if you want bank-funded crypto alongside existing investments and will compare the available order routes. Consider a dedicated exchange if your strategy requires a specific token, consistent access to advanced controls or public customer reserve verification.

Robinhood
Overall Score
7.6 / 10
Very Good

Crypto alongside securities in one app · Standard U.S. ACH transfers without fees · Volume-tiered exchange routing and retail API

Affiliate Disclosure

Disclaimer: CryptoSlate may receive a commission when you click links on our site and make a purchase or complete an action with a third party. This does not influence our editorial independence, reviews, or ratings, and we always aim to provide accurate, transparent information to our readers.

FAQ

Is Robinhood safe?

Robinhood Crypto has a New York virtual-currency license, offline custody for most coins and partial crime insurance. Its listed parent publishes audited financial statements. These protections do not make crypto FDIC-insured or SIPC-protected.

What are Robinhood fees?

Market maker routing charges no commission, but compensation to Robinhood is included in the spread. For exchange routing, the entry tier charges makers 0.50% and takers 0.95%. This tier applies below $10,000 of qualifying volume, where maker/taker pricing is available. Check the account’s displayed rate during rollout.

Does Robinhood require KYC?

Yes. The account requires identity verification, and crypto transfers may require additional approval. New-device and payment checks can also affect access.

Which coins does Robinhood support?

The September 8, 2026 U.S. table lists 90 tradable assets, with 66 marked for exchange routing. Availability varies by state and interface. Market-data-only entries and standalone Wallet assets are separate.

How long do Robinhood withdrawals take?

Robinhood lists one day for standard ACH withdrawal processing after funds become withdrawable, with extra time possible at the receiving bank. Crypto transfers depend on security review and blockchain confirmations. Eligible instant cash-out uses different fees and conditions.

How do I cash out from Robinhood?

Sell the crypto for USD and use the withdrawal option once the proceeds appear as withdrawable cash. Standard ACH has no Robinhood fee. Pending deposits or account restrictions can delay the ability to initiate the transfer.

Is Robinhood available in my country?

This review covers Robinhood Crypto’s U.S. account, available for basic crypto trading in all 50 states. Individual assets, routing and staking retain restrictions. Other countries use separate services, so U.S. availability does not establish access abroad.

Does Robinhood offer staking, futures, or a wide coin list?

It offers ETH, SOL and ADA staking, plus advanced charts, a ladder, Legend and a retail crypto API. Cards and futures use separate products or accounts. Earn’s USDG lending also moves assets into a separate self-custody arrangement.