tastytrade Review — Fees, Cash, Crypto, Safety, And Who It Suits

Verified Review
Published Updated

Chicago's tastytrade, Inc., formerly tastyworks, serves US options and futures traders who already run their own strategies, and this tastytrade review measures it by what they pay. Opening an equity option costs little and closing one carries no commission, but idle cash earns no published rate and the fees around each ticket add up. Read the reliability record before funding an account, because platform outages, a long crypto withdrawal pause and account takeovers all hit customers in 2026.

Andjela Radmilac
Reviewed by
Liam 'Akiba' Wright
Fact-checked by
6.0 Fair
Review Highlights
  • $1 to open equity options, $10 leg cap, $0 close
  • Futures and event contracts from the same login
  • Desktop, web, mobile and an open API

tastytrade Overview

Broker Name
tastytrade
Broker Type
Self-Directed Broker
Main Products
Stocks, ETFs, Fractional Shares, Options, Bonds / Treasuries, Futures, Spot Crypto, Crypto ETFs
Stock / ETF Commission
$0. Clearing is $0.0008 a share, and regulatory fees apply
Options Fee
$1 to open, $0 to close; $10/leg cap except index options; SPX adds $0.60
Default Cash Yield
Credit balance at Apex; rate not disclosed in September 24, 2026 research
Transfer-Out Fee
$75, or $135 for an IRA with the $60 closing fee
Account Minimum
$0, and $2,000 to keep margin privileges
Spot Crypto
Zero Hash; 26 coins observed September 24, 2026; individual accounts only
Crypto ETF Access
Spot crypto ETFs listed; no stated gate; account eligibility must be checked
Retirement Accounts
Traditional, Roth, SEP, Inherited
Protection
SIPC at tastytrade, Inc. and Apex covers a collapse, not price drops. Excess coverage, carrier unnamed. Futures and crypto: not SIPC
Regulator / CRD
SEC and CFTC registered, FINRA and NFA member. CRD 277027
Subscription
None

tastytrade Screenshots

tastytrade Pros and Cons

Pros

  • $0 to close equity options, $10 leg cap
  • Futures and event contracts in one account
  • Open API with a developer sandbox
  • $0 minimum and commission-free T-bills

Cons

  • No published interest rate on cash
  • $850,000 FINRA fine over order routing in 2026
  • No retail paper trading and no mutual funds
  • Crypto withdrawals paused two months in 2026

Is tastytrade Worth It?

Options traders who open 10 or more contracts a leg get the most from the cap. Investors who hold cash gain least, since nothing moves it into a paying fund on its own.

tastytrade suits traders who open options in size or trade futures beside a stock account. The $10 cap on each leg limits what large equity option orders pay to open, and closing them carries no commission.

Idle cash earns no rate tastytrade publishes, and index options, exercises, wires and transfers out each cost extra. FINRA, Wall Street's own regulator, fined the firm twice in 2026, the larger penalty over stock-order routing, and customers met a January outage and a two-month crypto withdrawal pause.

tastytrade pays off for low-cost equity options beside futures in one account, and falls short for anyone wanting a practice account or interest on cash kept at a broker.

Who tastytrade Suits And Who Should Skip It

How much an investor trades options and how much cash sits idle decide the fit here.

Buy-And-Hold ETF InvestorWorkable. $0 ETF trades, but no mutual funds or published cash rate
Retirement Saver (IRA)Partial. No annual fee, $135 to transfer an IRA out
Options TraderBest fit. $0 to close, a $10 cap per opening leg and portfolio margin
Active / Day TraderGood for futures and index options, though outages hit market hours in 2026
Investor Holding A Lot Of CashPoor. No published rate on idle cash
Crypto BuyerLimited. 26 coins, individual accounts only, and a two-month withdrawal pause in 2026
Crypto ETF InvestorWide. 56 of 62 open funds listed, no stated gate
Beginner With A Small AccountPoor. No retail paper trading despite $0 minimum

Traders who roll spreads often benefit most from the $0 close, which covers every stock, ETF and index option.

Cash-heavy accounts and first-time investors get less here, and a broker with a cash sweep or a practice account fits them better.

What You Can Invest In At tastytrade

tastytrade covers US-listed stocks, ETFs, options and futures and skips mutual funds and corporate and municipal bonds. Options trade in three approval tiers, and the top tier needs a margin account, which lets you borrow from the broker against your holdings.

US Stocks And ETFsUS-exchange-listed stocks and ETFs. No penny stocks or over-the-counter securities
Fractional Shares$5 minimum, market orders, under one share, regular hours only
Recurring InvestingETFs from $5 to $100,000 on a schedule, crypto from $10
OptionsThree tiers, named Limited and Cash, Basic, and The Works. SPX, XSP, VIX, RUT and NDX index options. Portfolio margin from $125,000
Mutual FundsNo purchases. Transferred-in funds sell for $20 each
Bonds, Treasuries And CDsT-bills, short-term US government debt, at $0 from $10,000. Notes, bonds and TIPS through the trade desk at $25 to open or close. No corporate or municipal bonds
FuturesCME futures, micros and options on futures, about 23 hours a day, on The Works tier
International StocksUS-listed ADRs only

Since July 2026, individual accounts can trade Kalshi's event contracts, yes-or-no contracts on real-world outcomes, cleared through Apex at $0 commission, capped at $1,000 an order and $3,000 a day in new positions. Forex trades at tastyfx, LLC, an affiliate under common control through IG US Holdings, Inc., in a separate account.

Crypto At tastytrade: Spot Crypto And Crypto ETFs

tastytrade crypto comes in two forms, coins held in an account at Zero Hash and crypto ETFs held as securities in the brokerage account.

Spot Crypto Through Zero Hash

Zero Hash Liquidity Services LLC executes coin trades on tastytrade and Zero Hash LLC holds the coins, 26 of them. Only individual cash and margin accounts outside Hawaii qualify, so joint and entity accounts need one of the crypto exchanges that serve US investors.

Each side of a trade carries a markup in the price, 0.75% for bitcoin and ether and 1% for other coins, and tastytrade keeps 65% of it. A $1 minimum per fill, capped at 3%, pushes the rate above 1% on orders under $100. tastytrade's crypto page says it is not an affiliate of either Zero Hash company, and its parent IG owns 7.6% of Zero Hash's holding company with a seat on its board.

Thirteen coins can leave on-chain from the web platform to self-custody crypto wallets at approved addresses, and twelve can come in, with withdrawals processed on business days from 8 AM to 4 PM CT. Outgoing transfers were unavailable from July 14 to September 11, 2026, and customers reported stalled withdrawals again through September 23. Stablecoin deposits are live, and stablecoin withdrawals are not currently supported. tastytrade removed them around July 26, 2026.

tastytrade charges no fee to move crypto, though network fees apply and are shown before you confirm. Sale proceeds settle in two to four days. tastytrade has closed its separate tastycrypto wallet app. SIPC does not reach coins at Zero Hash.

Crypto ETFs At tastytrade: Bitcoin, Ether, Solana And XRP

Of the 62 open US crypto ETFs on CryptoSlate's list, 56 appear in tastytrade's symbol search, including all 13 spot Bitcoin ETFs.

AssetSpot ETFs Listed At tastytradeNotes
Bitcoin13 of 13Complete
Ethereum11 of 12One missing
Solana9 of 10One missing
XRP5 of 5Complete
Other altcoins18 of 22LTCN and OBNB trade over the counter, which tastytrade does not allow

tastytrade states no crypto-ETF rule, eligibility test or outright ban, and says nothing on holding these funds in an IRA.

Costs: What You Actually Pay At tastytrade

A tastytrade stock or ETF trade costs nothing beyond clearing and regulatory fees, so option contracts, margin interest and the $75 transfer out carry the charges.

Stocks / ETFs (online)$0, plus $0.0008 a share in clearing, with regulatory fees on top
Broker-Assisted TradeNo extra charge
Options$1 a contract to open, $0 to close, capped per leg on equity and ETF options
Mutual Funds (non-NTF)Not offered
Account Maintenance$0
IRA Fees$0 a year, $60 to close
Transfer Out (ACATS)$75, and $135 for an IRA
Inactivity$0
Margin Rate (smallest tier)11.00% under $25,000
Outgoing Wire$25 domestic, $45 foreign
Spot Crypto0.75% for bitcoin and ether, 1% for other coins, each side, inside the price
Crypto WithdrawalNo tastytrade fee. Network fees apply

An outgoing ACATS transfer, which hands a whole account to a new broker, costs $75, while tastytrade repays up to $75 of another broker's fee on incoming transfers of $2,000 or more.

What This Table Does Not Include

tastytrade's fees exclude expense ratios, which funds take from their own returns. tastytrade issues no funds of its own.

tastytrade Options Commissions And The Per-Leg Cap

tastytrade options commissions are $1 a contract to open, up to $10 per leg on equity and ETF options, and $0 to close. A leg is one option line of an order, and the cap applies to each ticket. Cancel and replace a partial fill, and the new ticket pays again.

1 equity option contract to open$1
20 contracts to open, one leg$10
Two-leg spread, 10 or more spreads$20
20 SPX contracts to open$20, with $12 in SPX exchange fees
Closing any stock, ETF or index option$0
Exercise or assignment$5
Options on futures$1.25 each side, $0.75 on micros

Clearing at $0.10 a contract and regulatory fees come on top. Index options carry exchange fees of $0.60 on SPX, $0.35 on VIX, $0.25 on NDX and $0.18 on RUT per contract.

tastytrade Margin Rates

tastytrade margin rates run off a Base Rate of 10%, with interest charged on a 360-day year.

$0 to $24,99911.00%
$25,000 to $49,99910.50%
$50,000 to $99,99910.00%
$100,000 to $249,9999.50%
$250,000 to $499,9999.00%
$500,000 to $999,9998.50%
$1,000,000 and above8.00%

The 11.00% smallest tier sits below Fidelity's 12.075% and far above the 6.380% on IBKR Lite.

Costs That Do Not Show On The Fee Page

  • tastytrade keeps 65% of the Zero Hash markup inside each crypto fill.
  • Form CRS says pass-through exchange, regulatory and clearing fees “could be greater than the net cost paid by tastytrade”.
  • An IRA transfer out costs $135 once Apex's $60 closing fee joins the $75 ACATS charge.
  • A security that cannot be transferred costs $10 a month to hold.

Uninvested Cash: What It Earns And Who Holds It

tastytrade does not publish an interest rate on uninvested cash, and its Form CRS lists interest on that cash as one of the ways the firm makes money. To earn a yield, you buy T-bills from $10,000 or a money-market ETF. Customers posting on Reddit from September 2025 to August 2026 reported receiving no interest in taxable accounts or IRAs.

Credit balance at Apex, the defaultNo published rate
T-bills, bought by handMarket yield, $0 commission, $10,000 minimum
Money-market ETF, bought by handFund yield. $0 commission, plus per-share clearing

$10,000 left idle for a year would earn about $341 in a money market fund you choose at Fidelity and about $1 at Schwab's default, at current rates. At tastytrade, only cash moved into T-bills or a fund earns a stated yield.

Where tastytrade Holds Uninvested Cash

Cash stays at Apex Clearing Corporation as a credit balance in the securities account, with no bank or money-fund sweep. None of it has FDIC insurance, since that federal cover applies only to bank deposits.

Each day, tastytrade moves excess cash from futures, crypto and event-contract accounts into the securities account, where SIPC covers it if tastytrade or Apex fails. The customer agreement lets tastytrade move excess funds from securities to futures at its discretion, and cash there sits with Apex as futures commission merchant, the firm that holds futures customers' money, outside SIPC.

Account Types And Retirement

tastytrade offers individual, joint, Traditional, Roth, SEP and beneficiary IRAs, trust and entity accounts.

Individual (cash or margin)$0 minimum. $2,000 keeps margin privileges
JointTenants in common or with rights of survivorship
Traditional And Roth IRA$0 a year, $60 to close. Accepts 401(k) rollovers
SEP IRAOffered
Beneficiary Traditional And Roth IRAOffered
TrustRevocable or irrevocable, US residents, certificate required
EntityCorporations, LLCs, partnerships and hedge funds

tastytrade IRAs

A tastytrade IRA has no annual fee, and Apex's $60 closing fee applies on a full distribution or a transfer out. Futures trade in an IRA once account value at the start of the day reaches $25,000, or $5,000 for micros. Coins stay out, since Zero Hash serves individual accounts only. IRAs cannot hold event contracts. tastytrade states no rule on crypto ETFs in IRAs and runs no contribution match.

Order Execution And Payment For Order Flow

tastytrade's Rule 606 reports, the SEC-mandated routing disclosures published every quarter, show every stock order customers did not route themselves in 2026 going to one of five market makers, dealers that trade against incoming retail orders. Each pays tastytrade for those orders, what regulators term payment for order flow. From January to June 2026, Citadel took over 40% of those orders in 7 of the 12 monthly figures for S&P 500 and other stocks, peaking at 45.25% in June.

FINRA's July 21, 2026 settlement found that from January 2020 to January 2023 tastytrade routed all customer equity orders to five paying market makers without checking execution quality at competing exchanges and trading firms, and the firm paid $850,000. tastytrade's Form CRS says orders go where they benefit the customer first. The firm publishes no Rule 605 fill-quality statistics.

Order types include market, limit, stop, stop-limit, OTOCO and OCO brackets, and an Active Trader ladder. After-hours trading runs 3 PM to 7 PM CT with limit orders. The overnight session runs from 7 PM Sunday to 7 PM Friday CT through Bruce ATS for S&P 500 and Nasdaq 100 stocks and 21 ETFs, whole shares and limit orders only, though the stocks page markets it as 24/5 trading.

How tastytrade Makes Money From Order Flow

tastytrade receives up to $0.0015 a share on executed stock orders and $0.66 to $0.71 per options contract. The options rate resets twice a month, is the same at every market maker and is $0 on SPX and other single-exchange index options. The schedule did not change between the two 2026 quarters. Options flow brought in $4.4 million to $5.3 million a month, against $0.76 million to $1.14 million for stocks outside the S&P 500.

Is tastytrade Safe? SIPC, Entities And Regulatory Record

A tastytrade account involves two SIPC members, tastytrade, Inc. and Apex Clearing. If either fails owing client assets, SIPC, the Securities Investor Protection Corporation, covers the gap within limits of $500,000 a customer and $250,000 for cash, never a price decline. Zero Hash coins sit beyond SIPC.

RoleEntityProtection
Introducing brokertastytrade, Inc., CRD 277027SIPC member
Clearing firm, holds securities and cashApex Clearing Corporation, CRD 13071SIPC member, excess coverage
Futures commission merchantApex Clearing Corporation, clearing through StoneX Financial Inc.Held apart under CFTC rules, not SIPC
Event contractsKalshi contracts, cleared through ApexNot SIPC
Spot cryptoZero Hash Liquidity Services LLC and Zero Hash LLCNot SIPC
Parenttastylive, Inc., owned by IG Group Holdings plcNone

What SIPC Covers At tastytrade And Apex Clearing

tastytrade is an introducing broker that opens and services accounts, while its clearing firm, Apex Clearing Corporation, settles trades and has custody of client assets. Apex has arranged coverage above SIPC limits, a private policy triggered only by an Apex failure. Apex Clearing is the futures commission merchant that holds futures customers' funds, and it clears futures through StoneX Financial.

July 21, 2026, FINRABest execution, 2020 to 2023. All equity orders went to five paying market makers with no review of competing exchanges or trading firms. $850,000 fine and censure, final, no restitution
May 29, 2026, FINRAFailed to report at least 71 written customer complaints found in six weeks FINRA reviewed, 2020 to 2023. $200,000 fine and censure, final
November 6, 2024, FINRASupervision of employees' outside brokerage accounts, 2021 to 2023. $30,000 fine and censure, final

tastytrade shows no pending regulatory events on BrokerCheck, FINRA's free lookup of every firm's record, and its five-year fines total $1,080,000. A CFTC judgment officer dismissed a former futures customer's complaint over a 2023 platform freeze in December 2024. He has asked a federal appeals court to review it and is suing tastytrade in Illinois, alleging an $87,837 loss.

CBS Chicago reported on November 7, 2025 that a couple lost $180,000 from two retirement accounts in a takeover, and tastytrade agreed to reimburse half, saying the couple had not turned on two-step login codes. At least three customers described takeovers from August 19 to 22, 2026, and one said tastytrade restored the account in full. Login two-factor authentication was optional until at least August 2026.

None of the three FINRA findings involves customer assets, and all are final. tastytrade's 2026 Rule 606 reports still show every stock order customers did not route going to five paying market makers, the pattern the July 2026 finding covered.

Who Owns tastytrade

IG Group Holdings plc, the London-listed trading group, has owned tastytrade since a merger that closed on June 27, 2021, through IG US Holdings, Inc. and tastylive, Inc., the direct parent. The broker traded as tastyworks, Inc. before taking the tastytrade, Inc. name.

Platform, Apps And Research Tools

tastytrade runs a desktop platform, a web platform and mobile apps with charting, an Active Trader ladder and an AI Search tool that scans for symbols. Its pages show no third-party research provider or stock screener, and education comes from the affiliate tastylive, Inc.

Ratings stand at 4.76 on iOS across 13,308 votes and 4.06 on Google Play across 3,718. Among the 50 most recent written reviews, from customers worldwide, 58% on iOS and 52% on Google Play gave one or two stars.

A major outage on January 21, 2026 ran from 9:20 AM to 10:04 AM CT with slow service until 12:54 PM, and tastytrade posted it to its status page on January 29. tastytrade reviewed credits case by case, and two customers reported being reimbursed.

tastytrade Desktop, API And Paper Trading

tastytrade offers no retail paper-trading account. Its Open API covers equities, options, futures and crypto, with a sandbox where developers test orders against simulated money, a backtesting API and an MCP integration. A free backtesting tool replays options strategies over more than 10 years of data.

Opening, Funding And Withdrawals

Accounts open with $0, and margin needs $2,000. Free ACH through Plaid or micro-deposits allows two deposits and $250,000 a day. Real-Time Payments, wires, checks and incoming ACATS are the other routes, and crypto-enabled individual accounts take stablecoins. Debit cards and third-party funds are not accepted.

tastytrade Deposit Holds And Withdrawal Timing

Plaid-linked deposits add up to $10,000 of buying power at once, and other ACH deposits become tradable the next trading day. ACH money must settle five business days before it can return to the bank that sent it. New or dormant accounts wait longer to withdraw to any other bank, 60 calendar days for ACH and internal transfers and 30 for money that arrived by ACATS, crypto wallet or stablecoin.

Zero Hash requires cash used for a first crypto trade to sit at Apex for five business days. Wires and Real-Time Payments settle in one business day, and ACH withdrawals requested before 1 PM CT land in one to three business days. Customers' reports match the five-day and 60-day holds.

Support And Complaints

Phone support runs 7 AM to 5 PM CT Monday to Thursday and 7 AM to 4 PM CT on Friday, with no weekend line. Chat opens with a bot that can hand off to a live agent, and email is the only overnight route for futures traders. No escalation path is published, and FINRA takes brokerage complaints left unresolved.

Trustpilot shows 3.2 from 619 reviews by tastytrade customers worldwide, and the negative share rose sharply in 2026, 31 of 47 from January 1 to September 24 against 3 of 15 from September to December 2025. FINRA's $200,000 fine in May 2026 was for leaving at least 71 written complaints from 2020 to 2023 off required reports.

Roughly 45 Reddit threads from tastytrade customers worldwide across about 30 dates from September 2025 to September 2026 report outages, including 30 threads on January 21 alone. Support draws about 10 Reddit threads and 10 of 34 negative Trustpilot reviews over the past year citing contradictory answers or unanswered phones. About 27 threads cover risk-desk closes and accounts set to closing only, and about 16 cover crypto withdrawals, where posters said Zero Hash blamed tastytrade for the pause.

tastytrade Alternatives

Interest on uninvested cash and practice trading are what these four US brokers add over tastytrade.

Interactive BrokersOptions from $0.25 to $0.65 a contract on IBKR Pro or $0.65 on IBKR Lite, plus exchange and clearing fees, and cash interest on both plans above the first $10,000. Its top customer complaint is that no human is reachable
Charles Schwabthinkorswim with paperMoney practice trading, and phone and chat support listed around the clock. Cash earns 0.01% APY by default
FidelityEvery idle dollar earns once you park it in a money market fund you select. It offers no futures, and its crypto sits at a separate bank entity charging 1%
WebullPaper trading, $0 commission on stock and ETF options, and 0.50% APY on cash after you opt in. Its April 2026 app update broke charts, alerts and layouts, per Google Play reviews

Webull alone charges $0 to open stock and ETF options, and it adds paper trading, so cash and app stability separate the two.

Broker Pillar Scores

  • Investments & account choice 28% weight Available securities, fractional investing, crypto access, account types, eligibility, and product restrictions within each account.
    7.0 / 10
  • Safety, custody & transparency 20% weight Serving entities, asset custody, investor protections, account security, regulatory record, and clarity of terms and conflicts.
    7.0 / 10
  • Fees & cash returns 18% weight Trading, margin, currency conversion, account and exit costs, plus default cash yields, subscription charges, and eligibility.
    4.0 / 10
  • Execution & order handling 10% weight Execution prices, fill rates, speed, order controls, routing, payment for order flow, and relevant trading sessions.
    5.0 / 10
  • Platform, tools & research 10% weight Web and app usability, reliability, portfolio records, research, screeners, and tools relevant to the intended investor.
    7.0 / 10
  • Funding, withdrawals & transfers 8% weight Opening minimums, deposit availability for trading and withdrawal, settlement, holds, payout timing, and account transfers.
    5.0 / 10
  • Support & issue resolution 6% weight Human support availability, response quality, urgent account help, and escalation of unresolved cases.
    5.0 / 10
tastytrade

Final Verdict

For active options and futures traders, tastytrade caps equity-option opening costs at $10 a leg, charges $0 to close them and puts futures and event contracts under one login. Idle cash earns no published rate, there is no retail paper-trading account, and 2026 brought two FINRA fines, a major outage and a two-month crypto withdrawal pause.

tastytrade
Overall Score
6.0 / 10
Fair

Best For

Options and futures traders who manage their own risk

Avoid If

  • You keep idle cash or want a practice account first
Affiliate Disclosure

Disclaimer: CryptoSlate may receive a commission when you click links on our site and make a purchase or complete an action with a third party. This does not influence our editorial independence, reviews, or ratings, and we always aim to provide accurate, transparent information to our readers.

FAQ

Is tastytrade safe?

Securities and cash lost in a failure of tastytrade or Apex Clearing are restored by SIPC up to $500,000 per customer, but trading losses are not. Futures, event contracts and Zero Hash coins are outside it. FINRA has fined tastytrade three times since 2024, $1.08 million in all, with no customer assets involved and nothing pending.

What does tastytrade charge?

Stock and ETF trades are commission-free with a clearing fee of $0.0008 a share plus regulatory fees. Equity options cost $1 a contract to open, nothing to close and at most $10 a leg per ticket, while index options add exchange fees and skip the cap. Exercise or assignment costs $5, and a departing account pays $75, or $135 for an IRA.

What interest does tastytrade pay on cash?

tastytrade does not state a rate for cash left in an account and counts interest on customer cash among its own revenue in Form CRS. The Apex credit balance has no sweep, so a yield means buying T-bills from $10,000 or a money-market ETF by hand.

Can I buy crypto or Bitcoin ETFs on tastytrade?

Both. Zero Hash sells 26 coins to individual accounts outside Hawaii at a 0.75% or 1% markup each way. tastytrade’s symbol search finds all 13 spot Bitcoin ETFs CryptoSlate tracks, as ordinary listed securities.

Can I hold crypto in a tastytrade IRA?

Coin trading at tastytrade is limited to single-owner taxable accounts, so an IRA cannot own coins. tastytrade’s written IRA rules do not mention crypto ETFs.

Does tastytrade have paper trading?

No. tastytrade has no demo or simulated account, and its API sandbox is a developer test environment with simulated fills, not a practice account. For a dry run, the free backtesting tool tests an options strategy on past prices.

Why can't I withdraw money from tastytrade?

A new or dormant account cannot move ACH money to a bank other than the one it came from for 60 calendar days, and any ACH deposit waits five business days before returning to its source bank. Coin withdrawals were off from July 14 to September 11, 2026.

Who owns tastytrade, and is it the same as tastyworks?

IG Group Holdings plc owns it, through a merger that closed in June 2021. tastytrade is the same broker, formerly tastyworks.