eToro Review: Fees, Cash, Crypto, Safety And Who It Suits

Verified Review
Published Updated

eToro USA is a crypto-first social app that sells US stocks and options through a small broker attached to its coin business, and this eToro review looks at it for US investors. It suits investors who want coins and a feed of trades from other US accounts in one place. Its costs come less from trading than from where cash goes after a stock sale and from what the account cannot hold.

Andjela Radmilac
Reviewed by
Liam 'Akiba' Wright
Fact-checked by
4.0 Poor
Review Highlights
  • Options at $0 commission and $0 per contract
  • 114 buyable coins, 39 for New York residents
  • CopyTrader copies other US customers

eToro Overview

Broker Name
eToro
Broker Type
Multi-Asset Fintech App
Main Products
Stocks, ETFs, Fractional Shares, Options, Spot Crypto
Stock / ETF Commission
$0
Options Fee
$0 commission and $0 per contract, plus regulatory pass-through fees
Default Cash Yield
Sep 24, 2026: 0%; stock-sale cash moves to eToro USA LLC outside SIPC
Transfer-Out Fee
$75 ACATS. Crypto cannot move by ACATS
Account Minimum
$50 or $100 (eToro's documents differ)
Spot Crypto
eToro USA/NY LLC; 114 coins, 39 in NY, observed September 24, 2026
Crypto ETF Access
US crypto ETF availability not disclosed
Retirement Accounts
None
Protection
SIPC via eToro USA Securities if it fails. Stock-sale cash: not SIPC, FDIC-eligible at partner banks for bank failure only. Crypto: neither
Regulator / CRD
SEC and FINRA, CRD 298361. Crypto: state licenses, NYDFS
Subscription
None

eToro Screenshots

eToro Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Copy up to 100 US accounts, no extra fee
  • 114 buyable coins, 39 in New York
  • Smart Portfolios with no management fee
  • ACH deposits can be traded instantly

Cons

  • Stock-sale cash leaves SIPC and earns 0%
  • No IRAs, mutual funds, bonds or futures
  • 2% fee to move coins to eToro's wallet
  • No extended-hours trading for stocks

Is eToro Worth It?

The cost that counts at eToro starts after a stock sale. At the broker-dealer, SIPC, the Securities Investor Protection Corporation, would restore missing customer securities and cash if the firm failed, though never losses from falling prices. Sale proceeds leave that cover for a money transmitter, a state-licensed firm that holds and transfers customer funds, where they earn 0%.

eToro fits an investor who mainly wants crypto with a social layer. Its brokerage side covers US stocks, ETFs and a limited set of options, enough for a handful of long-term positions.

Sale proceeds move automatically to eToro USA LLC, or eToro NY LLC in New York. Both sit outside SIPC and pay the investor nothing, and eToro offers no IRA. Retirement savers and investors who leave money uninvested between purchases will find accounts that pay on it elsewhere.

The case for eToro is crypto and CopyTrader in one US app, in a state that gets both. The case against is the missing IRA and the 0% on idle cash.

Who eToro Suits And Who Should Skip It

The missing IRA, 0% on idle cash and the limits on orders and coin exits shape who eToro suits.

Buy-And-Hold ETF InvestorMixed fit. Fine for a small portfolio, but idle proceeds earn nothing
Retirement Saver (IRA)Poor fit. eToro USA offers no IRA of any kind
Options TraderPoor fit. Long calls, long puts and debit spreads only
Active / Day TraderPoor fit. The 606 reports show every non-directed stock order in 2026 was a market order
Investor Holding A Lot Of CashPoor fit. Stock-sale cash earns 0% at eToro USA LLC
Crypto BuyerGood fit at 1% per trade. Moving coins to a private wallet adds 2%
Crypto ETF InvestorMixed fit. eToro gives no US list of the crypto ETFs it carries
Beginner With A Small AccountMixed fit. A $50 or $100 start and a demo portfolio, but no IRA

The account works best as a crypto app holding small, long-term stock positions and little idle cash.

An investor who needs tax-advantaged saving, extended hours or interest on cash has to look elsewhere, and moving coins to self-custody adds a 2% transfer fee to the 1% trading fee.

What You Can Invest In At eToro

eToro USA runs a narrow brokerage menu of US-listed stocks, ETFs and a limited slice of options, and sells crypto through a separate company, eToro USA LLC.

US Stocks And ETFsUS exchange-listed only. Thinly traded shares can be restricted
Fractional SharesStocks and ETFs from $10, market orders only. Not transferable by ACATS
Recurring InvestingRecurring debit-card deposits. Recurring buys: Not disclosed
OptionsLimited Level 2 (buying calls and puts) and Level 3 (debit spreads, two-option positions paid for up front)
Mutual FundsNot offered
Bonds, Treasuries And CDsNot offered
FuturesNot offered
International StocksNo direct foreign markets. American depositary receipts (ADRs), US-traded stand-ins for foreign shares: Not disclosed

Investors after bond income or option-selling strategies find neither here.

Crypto At eToro: Spot Crypto And Crypto ETFs

Crypto sits at the center of eToro's US account, run by two money transmitters whose coins carry no SIPC or FDIC coverage.

Spot Crypto At eToro USA LLC And eToro NY LLC

eToro USA LLC (NMLS 1769299) sells crypto to most US investors, and eToro NY LLC (NMLS 1900938) serves New York under a BitLicense, the state's virtual currency license. NMLS is the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System, the registry for state money transmitter licenses. eToro USA LLC lists 114 buyable coins and eToro NY LLC lists 39. Neither entity allows borrowing or short selling.

eToro charges 1% on each crypto buy and sell, and its contract lets it add a spread. Residents of Hawaii, Nevada, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands get a securities-only account with no coins.

Staking covers Cardano, Solana and Sui automatically unless the investor opts out, and Ethereum by opt-in, with eToro keeping 10% to 55% of the yield depending on the investor's tier in eToro Club, its loyalty program. The staking state list excludes ten jurisdictions, New York and California among them.

An eToro affiliate outside the US may hold the coins, in pooled wallets shared by many investors. If a third party holding them fails, the customer agreement leaves each account holder only an unsecured claim, one that waits in line with other creditors.

Moving Crypto Off eToro Through The eToro Money Wallet

The eToro Money wallet is the only exit, because the trading account sends nothing on-chain. eToro or a third party acting for it holds the wallet's private keys, so the investor holds the keys only after coins move to one of the self-custody crypto wallets outside eToro.

Moving coins from the eToro platform to the eToro Money wallet costs 2% of the amount, at least $1 and at most $100, before any blockchain fee on the way out. A $1,000 move pays $20, and the cap lowers the rate only above $5,000.

eToro sets the network fee on wallet sends at its discretion, and sends are capped at $50,000 per transaction and $200,000 a day overall. About 30 coins can move to the wallet. eToro's documents disagree on whether wallet coins can return to the trading account.

Crypto ETFs At eToro: Bitcoin, Ether, Solana And XRP

eToro does not publish which spot crypto ETFs a US account can buy, and no eToro agreement restricts the spot Bitcoin ETFs or other crypto funds.

AssetSpot ETFs Listed At eToroNotes
BitcoinNot disclosed—
EthereumNot disclosed—
SolanaNot disclosed—
XRPNot disclosed—
Other altcoinsNot disclosed—

With no IRA at eToro, any crypto ETF it accepts would be held in a taxable account at Apex Clearing, the firm that clears eToro's trades and holds the securities. Fractional orders fill at market only.

Costs: What You Actually Pay At eToro

eToro's price list for stocks, ETFs and options starts at zero, in line with the big US brokers, so the costs that count come from crypto pricing and from leaving.

Stocks / ETFs (online)$0
Broker-Assisted TradeNot disclosed
Options$0 commission and $0 per contract, plus regulatory pass-through fees
Mutual Funds (non-NTF)Not offered
Account Maintenance$0
IRA FeesNo IRAs
Transfer Out (ACATS)$75
InactivityContested across eToro documents
Margin Rate (smallest tier)No margin on stocks
Outgoing Wire$25 domestic, $45 foreign
Spot Crypto1% per buy and per sell, with a contractual spread right
Crypto Withdrawal2% to the eToro Money wallet ($1 minimum, $100 maximum), then a network fee

A buy-and-hold stock investor pays little before leaving unless the disputed inactivity fee applies, while a crypto buyer pays on every trade and again to reach a private wallet. eToro does not lend against stocks, and options accounts can use margin under Apex's terms at a rate eToro does not publish.

What This Table Does Not Include

Each fund company sets and collects its own expense ratio, outside eToro's fee schedule, and no eToro company runs a fund.

eToro Transfer-Out, Withdrawal And Inactivity Fees

Moving an eToro account to another broker runs through ACATS, the Automated Customer Account Transfer Service, for $75. Closing the account manually adds $5.

Cash withdrawals from eToro USA LLC are free, with a $2 minimum in eToro's withdrawal FAQ and $30 on its US fee page. The $5 withdrawal fee in many eToro reviews belongs to its non-US entities.

eToro's fee schedule lists a $10 monthly inactivity fee with no trigger or waiver, the customer agreement reserves one after an undefined extended period, and the help center says eToro charges none. The eToro Money wallet has its own inactivity charge, in an amount eToro does not state, after 120 days without a login, or a year if the wallet holds crypto.

Costs That Do Not Show On The Fee Page

  • eToro USA LLC can add its own spread to crypto quotes on top of the 1% fee.
  • eToro sets the wallet network fee at its discretion and does not say who keeps any surplus.
  • Staking rewards arrive after eToro keeps 10% to 55% of the network yield.
  • The options cash program charges $2 a month unless combined eToro assets reach $5,000.

Uninvested Cash: What It Earns And Who Holds It

Idle cash at eToro earns nothing by default, and in most accounts it leaves the broker-dealer. With no IRA on offer, only taxable and options cash is at stake.

Where eToro Sends Your Stock-Sale Cash

Cash from stock sales does not stay at the broker-dealer. eToro's customer agreement moves it automatically to eToro USA LLC, or eToro NY LLC in New York, a money transmitter outside SIPC. The agreement calls it a money services business, or MSB.

eToro's customer agreement says the Equities Account “will be a ‘zero-balance' account, meaning that all proceeds from the sale of any securities in the Equities Account will be automatically transferred to the MSB Account.” Dividends follow the same path. The MSB keeps the money at FDIC-member banks, Cross River Bank, Customers Bank and JPMorgan Chase, and the customer agreement lets cash sit outside a member bank for short periods.

At a member bank, balances are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 per depositor through pass-through coverage, where a bank's insurance reaches each customer's share of an account a middleman opens. Cash outside a member bank or in transit has no FDIC cover, and FDIC never covers the MSB failing.

The MSB may earn interest on this cash, and “eToro does not pay you any interest the MSB receives.” On September 17, 2026, SEC staff agreed not to object to eToro running this “zero cash balance” model with at least $5,000 in net capital, the liquid cushion a broker-dealer must hold.

Options-account cash stays at Apex in a bank sweep whose interest Apex and eToro keep. Securities-only accounts in Hawaii, Nevada, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands keep their cash at Apex.

The eToro Options High-Interest Cash Program

eToro advertises 3.25% on opt-in options-account cash, with a $2 monthly fee below $5,000 in combined eToro assets, and says the rate can change. Securities-only accounts in those four places can also join, and standard stock-sale cash cannot.

Stock-sale cash and dividends (default)0% to the investor. eToro USA LLC or eToro NY LLC, at partner banks
Options-account cash (default)0% to the investor. Apex bank sweep
High Interest Cash Program (opt-in)3.25% advertised. Held at Apex
IRA cashNo IRAs

$10,000 of sale proceeds left idle for a year earns $10,000 × 0% = $0. The same $10,000 held as options-account cash in the program at the advertised 3.25% would earn about $325.

Account Types And Retirement

eToro USA sells individual taxable accounts and a joint version with trading limited to one owner, and nothing for retirement.

Individual TaxableYes. $0 maintenance
JointeToro says both owners can deposit and withdraw and only the account owner trades
Traditional, Roth And Rollover IRANot offered
SEP And SIMPLE IRANot offered
Solo 401(k)Not offered
Custodial And TrustNot disclosed
HSA And 529Not disclosed

eToro USA Securities Inc. (eToro Securities) offers no retirement accounts. Its Form CRS, the disclosure of services, fees and conflicts every broker-dealer gives retail investors, lists none.

Order Execution And Payment For Order Flow

eToro Securities earns payment for order flow (PFOF), a rebate from market makers, the trading firms that fill its customers' stock and options orders. Each quarter it files a Rule 606 report listing those firms and the rates they paid.

eToro's 606 reports show every non-directed stock order in 2026 was a market order, one that fills at the next available price, with non-directed meaning the investor did not choose where it went. From January through March 2026, stock orders spread across six market makers at roughly 8% to 22% each. Virtu took about a third in April and 93% to 95% in May and June 2026.

Options orders in the second quarter went most often to Citadel, at 23% to 25% a month, followed by Global Execution Brokers, Jane Street and Dash.

eToro offers no extended-hours trading for stocks and ETFs, so orders placed outside regular hours wait for the open. Its execution policy points to Apex's disclosures in place of statistics of its own.

How eToro Makes Money From Order Flow

Market makers paid $0.05 per 100 shares on S&P 500 market orders in every month of the first half of 2026, $1.47 to $3.77 per 100 shares on other stocks, and about $0.21 to $0.30 per options contract. Apex passes 50% of equity PFOF and 85% of options PFOF to eToro Securities, and the rates held steady between quarters. Options payments came to $60,342 in the second quarter, up from $58,033 in the first, while S&P 500 stock orders brought in $343 over the same quarter.

eToro's help center lists its other US income as interest on cash held by eToro USA LLC, the crypto and wallet fees, its cut of staking rewards and margin interest. Crypto orders fill against a global eToro affiliate outside the 606 reports, and eToro does not disclose the affiliate's markup.

Is eToro Safe? SIPC, Entities And Regulatory Record

Only what Apex Clearing holds for an eToro account falls under SIPC, and only if a broker collapses, up to $500,000 per customer, $250,000 of it cash. Crypto and stock-sale cash at eToro's money transmitters get no SIPC cover.

RoleEntityProtection
Introducing broker-dealereToro USA Securities Inc. (CRD 298361)SIPC member if it fails. Holds no customer assets
Clearing firm and custodianApex Clearing Corporation (CRD 13071)SIPC member if it fails, with excess coverage
Crypto and stock-sale cash, most stateseToro USA LLC (NMLS 1769299)Not SIPC. Cash FDIC-eligible for bank failure only. Crypto neither
Crypto and stock-sale cash, New YorkeToro NY LLC (NMLS 1900938, BitLicense)Same as eToro USA LLC
ParenteToro Group Ltd. (Nasdaq: ETOR)No customer protection. Funds the broker-dealer

One account therefore spans SIPC, for a broker failure at Apex, and state money-transmitter licensing at eToro's two MSBs.

SIPC, Apex And The Money Transmitter Account

eToro USA LLC sits outside SIPC entirely. Apex adds excess SIPC, private coverage above SIPC's limits for the same event, a broker failure, and for Apex-carried accounts only. The policy caps out at $150 million in total and at $37.5 million in securities and $0.9 million in cash per customer, and Apex does not say who the insurer is.

The customer agreement gives crypto in the MSB account no SIPC, FDIC or government protection, and eToro's commercial insurance covers eToro, never individual accounts.

September 12, 2024, SEC, against eToro USA LLCFound the crypto entity operated an unregistered broker and clearing agency "from at least 2020". $1.5 million penalty and an order to stop. US crypto was cut to Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash and Ether, with other positions sold or liquidated by March 18, 2025, and the coin list has since been re-expanded. Final
January 24, 2024, New Hampshire Bureau of Securities Regulation, against eToro USA Securities Inc.$3,250 fine for filing 2022 audited financial statements late. Final

BrokerCheck, FINRA's public database of broker-dealers, shows the New Hampshire fine as the broker-dealer's only event, with nothing pending. The SEC order is absent there because eToro USA LLC is not a broker-dealer.

The broker-dealer's audited 2025 report carries a going-concern note, the disclosure on whether a company can keep operating without outside support. eToro Securities says there that it presently lacks the profitability to support its operations and runs on capital from eToro Group Ltd., which contributed $5.5 million in 2025. At December 31, 2025, the firm held net capital of $6,362,703 against a $100,000 requirement.

The broker-dealer carries one small fine and relies on its parent for capital, while the crypto entity that settled with the SEC in 2024 holds the sale proceeds of most accounts.

Platform, Apps And Research Tools

eToro runs as a web platform and as iOS and Android apps. The iOS app holds a 4.39 rating from 9,906 US ratings, and one or two stars came from 18% of the 50 most recent US reviews.

eToro's US help center documents its charts and ProCharts, a multi-chart view. Every account comes with a demo portfolio holding $100,000 in virtual funds, eToro says.

CopyTrader And Smart Portfolios In The US

eToro started rolling out CopyTrader, its copy trading feature, to select US accounts on October 29, 2025. Only other US investors can be copied, across their stock, ETF and crypto positions, and the feature is missing from some US states, which eToro does not list. Copying takes $200 to $500,000, covers up to 100 traders and carries no extra fee.

Six Reddit posts and four iOS reviews from December 2024 to September 2026 describe paused or restricted CopyTrader access. The earlier posts say US copying covered mostly crypto portfolios before the October 2025 rollout.

Smart Portfolios are crypto-only in the US, start at $500 and charge no management fee. They are unavailable in New York, Nevada, Hawaii, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands.

Opening, Funding And Withdrawals

eToro serves every US state and territory except American Samoa and Guam. Its deposit FAQ and homepage give a $50 minimum, and its funds availability document gives $100. Deposits land in the MSB account first.

ACH deposits run from $10 to $10,000 a day and can be traded at once, as can debit card and PayPal deposits. Wires start at $500 and take four to seven business days. Fractional shares cannot transfer, so eToro sells them before an ACATS move, and crypto cannot move by ACATS at all.

eToro Deposit And Withdrawal Holds

eToro's funds availability document says ACH money “must remain in your account for a minimum of 6 business days after settlement prior to withdrawal.” Its withdrawal FAQ describes “a seven-day hold from the date of deposit before all funds deposited via online banking can be withdrawn.” Once a request is accepted, eToro USA LLC processes cash withdrawals within seven business days.

Support And Complaints

Help runs through chat and tickets in eToro's help center, and eToro lists 1-888-271-8365. The Form CRS gives a different number, and eToro states no support hours.

Disputes go to arbitration under the customer agreement, and complaints about the broker-dealer can go to FINRA.

Every complaint in the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau database is filed against eToro USA LLC, with “money not available when promised” as the most common issue. Five Reddit posts from October 2025 to May 2026 report failed withdrawals to banks such as Chase and Chime. Three Reddit posts and five iOS reviews from June 2024 to July 2026 describe an AI chatbot and a phone line that points back to the website, and nine iOS reviews from August 2024 to June 2026 report crashes or lockouts.

eToro Alternatives

All four offer the IRAs eToro lacks.

RobinhoodTraditional and Roth IRAs, and on-chain coin transfers with only a network fee. Cash earns only with the $50-a-year Gold plan
WebullFour options levels, extended hours and opt-in interest on cash. ACATS out costs $75
FidelityIRAs of every kind, a money market fund for idle cash at no monthly charge, and $0 to transfer an account out. Only five coins trade spot
Charles SchwabThe full menu including futures and 24/5 trading on Schwab's thinkorswim platform. Default cash pays 0.01%

Fidelity closes the retirement and cash gaps together, and Robinhood suits a crypto-first investor who wants coins to leave on-chain without a 2% toll, as most crypto exchanges that serve US investors allow.

Broker Pillar Scores

  • Investments & account choice 28% weight Available securities, fractional investing, crypto access, account types, eligibility, and product restrictions within each account.
    4.0 / 10
  • Safety, custody & transparency 20% weight Serving entities, asset custody, investor protections, account security, regulatory record, and clarity of terms and conflicts.
    5.0 / 10
  • Fees & cash returns 18% weight Trading, margin, currency conversion, account and exit costs, plus default cash yields, subscription charges, and eligibility.
    3.0 / 10
  • Execution & order handling 10% weight Execution prices, fill rates, speed, order controls, routing, payment for order flow, and relevant trading sessions.
    3.0 / 10
  • Platform, tools & research 10% weight Web and app usability, reliability, portfolio records, research, screeners, and tools relevant to the intended investor.
    5.0 / 10
  • Funding, withdrawals & transfers 8% weight Opening minimums, deposit availability for trading and withdrawal, settlement, holds, payout timing, and account transfers.
    5.0 / 10
  • Support & issue resolution 6% weight Human support availability, response quality, urgent account help, and escalation of unresolved cases.
    3.0 / 10
eToro

Final Verdict

eToro USA suits investors who want crypto and CopyTrader with a few US stocks on the side. Stock-sale cash moves to a non-SIPC money transmitter and earns 0%, there are no IRAs, and coins leave only through eToro's wallet, where moving them in costs 2%.

eToro
Overall Score
4.0 / 10
Poor

Best For

Crypto buyers who want a social feed and a few US stocks

Avoid If

  • You need an IRA, extended hours or interest on idle cash
Affiliate Disclosure

Disclaimer: CryptoSlate may receive a commission when you click links on our site and make a purchase or complete an action with a third party. This does not influence our editorial independence, reviews, or ratings, and we always aim to provide accurate, transparent information to our readers.

FAQ

Is eToro safe?

Only part of an eToro account has SIPC protection, and it applies when a broker fails, never to market losses. Stocks and ETFs held at Apex are covered. The cash from selling them moves to eToro USA LLC, a money transmitter outside SIPC, and coins have neither SIPC nor FDIC protection.

What does eToro charge?

Stock, ETF and options trades carry no commission. Crypto trades are charged 1% each way, and moving coins to the eToro Money wallet adds 2%, capped at $100. Leaving by ACATS costs $75 and a manual closure $5, while US cash withdrawals are free.

What interest does eToro pay on cash?

None by default. Sale proceeds are held by eToro USA LLC, which keeps any interest the partner banks pay. Options-account cash can join an opt-in program eToro advertises at 3.25%.

Can I buy crypto or Bitcoin ETFs on eToro?

Spot crypto, yes, with 114 coins at eToro USA LLC and 39 at eToro NY LLC, and none sold in Hawaii, Nevada, Puerto Rico or the US Virgin Islands. For Bitcoin ETFs, eToro gives US investors no list of the funds it accepts.

Can I hold crypto in an eToro IRA?

No. eToro USA offers no IRA of any type, so coins and any crypto ETF it carries can only be held in a taxable account.

Is it hard to withdraw money from eToro?

It can be slow. Bank deposits are held six business days after settlement or seven days from deposit, depending on the eToro document, and processing takes up to seven business days more. Delayed or failed withdrawals recur in US complaints.

Can I use CopyTrader in the US?

Yes, in the states where eToro offers it, and only to copy other US customers. Copying starts at $200 with no added fee, and some US investors have reported the feature paused for their accounts.

Can I move my crypto off eToro?

Yes, but only through eToro Money, eToro’s custodial wallet. Sending coins there costs 2%, capped at $100, and about 30 coins qualify. Once in the wallet, they can go to any outside address.