Verified Review
Published Updated

iTrustCapital combines institutional custody with 100+ crypto assets, 10,000+ stocks and ETFs, precious metals, and tax-advantaged IRAs. Stock trades carry $0 commissions, eligible fractional shares start at $20, and PCA clients can request USD or in-kind crypto withdrawals.

Nate Whitehill
Reviewed by
News Desk
Fact-checked by
Launched in 2018
8.8 Excellent
Review Highlights
  • 100+ crypto, stocks, ETFs, and metals
  • PCA supports USD and crypto withdrawals
  • ETH/SOL staking plus stablecoin rewards

Get a $100 Funding Bonus

iTrustCapital Overview

Bitcoin IRA Name iTrustCapital
Launch Year 2018

Additional details

Restricted Countries Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Cote d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of the Congo, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Puerto Rico, Isle of Man, Jersey, Gibraltar, Martinique, Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Reunion, Mayotte, St. Martin, French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna, New Caledonia, Dutch West Indies, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Ontario (Canada), Anguilla, Antarctica, Aruba, Bermuda, Bonaire St Eustatius and Saba, Bouvet Island, British Indian Ocean Territory, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cook Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Faroe Islands, Greenland, Guam, Guernsey, Hawaii, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Hong Kong, Macau, Montserrat, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Pitcairn, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Helena, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sint Maarten, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Taiwan, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Virgin Islands (British), Virgin Islands (U.S.), Western Sahara, Åland Islands, American Samoa, French Southern Territories, Canada
Supported Cryptos Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, Solana, Dogecoin, Cardano, Chainlink, Stellar, Bitcoin Cash, Sui, Hedera, Avalanche, Litecoin, Gram (prev. Toncoin), SHIBA INU, Uniswap, Polkadot, Pepe, Aave, Bittensor, NEAR Protocol, Aptos, Ondo, Internet Computer, Arbitrum, Polygon Ecosystem Token, Algorand, Pudgy Penguins, VeChain, Cosmos, Render, Bonk, Sei, Official Trump, Filecoin, Story, Artificial Superintelligence Alliance, Flare, Injective, Optimism, Celestia, Curve DAO Token, Quant, Stacks, Lido DAO, Immutable

iTrustCapital Screenshots

iTrustCapital Pros and Cons

Pros

  • 10,000+ stocks and ETFs
  • $0 stock trades; fractional shares from $20
  • 100+ cryptocurrencies with 24/7 trading
  • USD and crypto withdrawals from PCA
  • Institutional custody; no monthly fees

Cons

  • $1,000 minimum; U.S. customers only
  • PCA USD withdrawals take 5–10 business days
  • No extended-hours stock trading
  • ACATS transfers not yet available
  • Crypto insurance limits not disclosed

At-a-Glance

  • What it is: An award-winning fintech founded in 2018 in Southern California, offering Premium Custody Accounts (PCAs) for taxable investing and tax-advantaged Crypto IRAs with institutional custody, 100+ crypto assets, precious metals, and 10,000+ stocks and ETFs.
  • Best for: U.S. investors who want crypto, U.S.-listed stocks and ETFs, precious metals, staking, and stablecoin rewards in one platform, with taxable-account flexibility or IRA tax advantages.
  • Strengths: 24/7 access to 100+ cryptocurrencies; 10,000+ stocks and ETFs; $0 commissions on stock purchases and sales; eligible fractional shares from $20; verified USD and in-kind crypto PCA withdrawals; ETH and SOL staking; USDC and RLUSD rewards; and no setup or monthly fees.
  • Trade-offs: $1,000 minimum to open; U.S.-only; stocks and ETFs trade only during standard market hours with no extended-hours trading; ACATS transfers are planned but not yet available; PCA USD withdrawals can take 5–10 business days; USDC and RLUSD cannot currently be withdrawn in kind; and crypto insurance amounts and per-account limits are not disclosed.

What Is iTrustCapital & Who It's For

iTrustCapital is a fintech software platform for traditional and alternative assets. The company provides access to 100+ cryptocurrencies, precious metals, and 10,000+ stocks and ETFs through self-directed, tax-advantaged Crypto IRAs and non-IRA Premium Custody Accounts. Crypto trading remains available 24/7, while stocks and ETFs trade during standard U.S. market hours.

iTrustCapital’s differentiation centers on two account types: a taxable Premium Custody Account (PCA) designed for secure, exchange-alternative investing, and a Tax-Advantaged Crypto IRA (a self-directed IRA) with traditional or Roth tax benefits. Both account types now support stocks and ETFs alongside digital assets and precious metals.

Stock and ETF access requires a brief onboarding process to open a self-directed brokerage account with Apex Clearing Corporation. iTrustCapital itself is not a broker-dealer; its stocks page says equity and ETF securities products and services are provided by Apex, an SEC-registered broker-dealer and FINRA/SIPC member.

Eligible clients can also earn rewards through live Ethereum and Solana staking and through USDC and RLUSD stablecoin reward programs. Reward rates and availability can change.

The PCA uses a closed-loop verification model: clients can fund with USD or supported crypto and request withdrawals in USD or eligible crypto sent in kind to an external wallet. iTrustCapital says funds are returned only to the verified account holder after security and identity checks. USDC and RLUSD cannot currently be withdrawn in kind and must first be converted to USD. A company representative told CryptoSlate:

“We offer a 1% transaction fee on buys/sells, secure custody through U.S.-based third-party providers, a simple, reliable platform, and thousands of five-star client reviews.”

The company reports 250,000+ accounts opened and highlights 15,000+ reviews rated “Excellent,” plus multiple industry awards and recognition as the largest Crypto IRA platform in the U.S. (company materials).

iTrustCapital dashboard displaying a crypto IRA portfolio with total value, unrealized gains, a price chart, buy or sell controls, a fear and greed index, and a market watch for assets like Bitcoin and Ethereum.
iTrustCapital dashboard displaying a crypto IRA portfolio with total value, unrealized gains, a price chart, buy or sell controls, a fear and greed index, and a market watch for assets like Bitcoin and Ethereum.

Hands-On

  1. Open & verify: Choose a Premium Custody Account or Crypto IRA, create an account, and complete identity checks. Stock and ETF access requires a brief additional onboarding process to open a self-directed brokerage account with Apex Clearing Corporation.
  2. Fund:
    • PCA: Cash or in-kind crypto.
    • IRA: Transfer from another IRA, roll over a former employer plan (401k/403b/457), or make cash contributions.
    • Minimums: $1,000 to open; $500 for additional deposits; per-transaction minimum around ~$15 for crypto (varies by asset).
  3. Trade crypto and metals: Access 100+ cryptocurrencies (including BTC, ETH, XRP, and SOL) plus gold and silver around the clock. Use conditional orders and set weekly or monthly recurring buys.
  4. Trade stocks and ETFs:
    • Access 10,000+ stocks and ETFs, including thousands of U.S.-listed companies.
    • Stock purchases and sales carry $0 commissions.
    • Fractional stock investing starts at $20 for eligible assets.
    • Trading is available from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. ET, Monday through Friday, excluding market holidays. Pre-market and after-hours trading are not currently supported.
    • ACATS transfers from an existing brokerage are planned but not yet available.
  5. Execution & settlement: Crypto orders typically settle in 15–30 seconds. For thin-liquidity tokens, the platform enforces per-transaction maximums to limit slippage. For large BTC, ETH, or SOL orders, submit successive transactions; multiple liquidity providers compete for best execution.
  6. Stake and earn rewards: Ethereum and Solana staking are live for eligible assets in IRAs and PCAs. Staking reward rates and timing vary by network, and the displayed rate is net of fees. USDC and RLUSD rewards compound automatically and accrue daily; USDC rewards are distributed monthly, while RLUSD rewards are distributed quarterly. Rates and availability are not guaranteed.
  7. Withdrawals & distributions:
    • PCA: Request USD or eligible in-kind crypto withdrawals after security and identity verification. USD withdrawals currently take 5–10 business days. USDC and RLUSD cannot currently be withdrawn in kind and must be converted to USD.
    • IRA: USD distributions and eligible in-kind crypto distributions to a personal wallet are supported after verification. Current guidance says distributions generally take 7–14 business days after the required DocuSign is signed.

Notable features: Closed-loop verification; institutional custody; 24/7 access to 100+ crypto assets; 10,000+ stocks and ETFs; $0 stock commissions; eligible fractional shares from $20; verified USD and crypto PCA withdrawals; ETH and SOL staking; USDC and RLUSD rewards; conditional orders; recurring buys; and near-instant crypto settlement.

iTrustCapital account overview showing multiple IRA accounts with 24-hour and total gains, add funds and buy or sell buttons, funding and settings sections, plus a right panel with referral rewards, the fear and greed index, and a crypto market watch.
iTrustCapital account overview showing multiple IRA accounts with 24-hour and total gains, add funds and buy or sell buttons, funding and settings sections, plus a right panel with referral rewards, the fear and greed index, and a crypto market watch.

Pricing & Value

  • Setup: $0
  • Monthly/annual fees: $0
  • Startup and exit fees: $0
  • Crypto transactions: 1% per buy/sell
  • Stock transactions: $0 commissions on purchases and sales
  • Fractional stock purchases: From $20 on eligible assets
  • USDC and RLUSD conversions: $0 conversion fees between USD and the supported stablecoin; reward rates and availability can change
  • Precious metals: Gold, silver, and platinum transaction fees are quoted over spot per ounce. Fees are subject to change, so review current platform pricing before trading.
  • Minimums: $1,000 to open; $500 for subsequent deposits; crypto transaction minimum around ~$15 (varies by asset)

Company materials position iTrustCapital as a broad, affordable choice in its category, combining crypto, precious metals, stocks, ETFs, staking, and stablecoin rewards with simple pricing and an easy interface.

Security & Privacy

iTrustCapital leverages third-party U.S.-based custodians and institutional storage providers: Coinbase Custody, Fidelity Digital Assets, and Fireblocks, with Cold Storage, Multi-Party Computation (MPC), and Hardware Security Modules (HSM).

Insurance Coverage & Limits

iTrustCapital’s storage partners maintain commercial crime insurance. The company says it cannot disclose per-wallet insurance amounts and that these providers do not publish coverage limits.

iTrustCapital notes it actively manages wallet structures to maximize coverage across providers. Importantly, no crypto-industry policy covers 100% of assets on any platform; in practice, insurance is a backstop rather than a guarantee. Still, being underwritten at all indicates a level of security rigor and platform maturity among these custodians.

Assets are maintained 1:1, off-balance sheet, and held FBO (for the benefit of) each client. The PCA’s closed-loop verification process requires security and identity checks for both USD and eligible in-kind crypto withdrawals, and iTrustCapital says funds are returned only to the verified account holder. These controls reduce unauthorized-withdrawal risk but do not eliminate account, custody, or market risk.

On insurance, the company is refreshingly candid:

“No insurance policy in the crypto industry covers all assets on any platform; our storage providers maintain commercial crime insurance, but they do not disclose amounts.”

Staking & Slashing Policy

Ethereum (ETH) and Solana (SOL) staking are live for eligible holdings in both Crypto IRAs and Premium Custody Accounts. Clients can initiate staking from the dashboard, but bonding and unbonding times, validator performance, and reward rates vary with network conditions.

The reward rate displayed in the dashboard is net of applicable iTrustCapital and third-party provider fees. iTrustCapital’s current example uses a 22% fee on staking rewards, meaning clients retain 78%. Rewards are paid when assets are unstaked and are not automatically restaked. Staked assets remain locked until the network’s unbonding process completes, and staking carries risks including slashing, changing rewards, and reduced liquidity.

USDC and RLUSD rewards

iTrustCapital also offers rewards on USDC and RLUSD. Both programs compound automatically and accrue rewards daily. USDC rewards are distributed monthly, while RLUSD rewards are distributed quarterly. Reward rates and availability are variable and not guaranteed.

USDC and RLUSD are available across Crypto IRAs, Premium Custody Accounts, and Treasury Accounts. In-kind withdrawals and distributions of these stablecoins are not currently available; clients must convert them to USD before requesting a withdrawal or distribution.

Support

Award-winning, U.S.-based live support remains a standout, with weekday phone support, live chat, and ticketing. iTrustCapital now highlights 15,000+ client reviews rated “Excellent” on its reviews page. The company emphasizes fast handling for critical events such as withdrawals and distributions, with multi-member coordination and same-day responses. A company representative told CryptoSlate:

“Most client issues are resolved within minutes, and all inquiries are responded to the same day.”

Competitors

Named alternatives in this category include Choice by Swan, BitIRA, and Fidelity’s Digital Assets. iTrustCapital now spans actual crypto, precious metals, and 10,000+ stocks and ETFs across its Crypto IRAs and Premium Custody Accounts. Its pitch versus crypto ETFs still includes actual crypto ownership, eligible in-kind IRA distributions to personal wallets, 24/7 crypto trading, and 100+ crypto assets. Its new equity offering adds $0-commission stock purchases and sales plus eligible fractional shares from $20.

Stock and ETF trades are limited to standard U.S. market hours, with no pre-market or after-hours support, and ACATS transfers are planned but not yet available.

Bitcoin IRA Competitor Snapshot

ProviderHeadline FeesAsset ScopeKey Notes
iTrustCapital$0 setup, $0 monthly, 1% per crypto buy/sell; $0 commission on stock purchases and sales; precious-metals fees quoted over spot per ounce (variable)100+ cryptocurrencies + gold & silver + 10,000+ stocks and ETFsInstitutional crypto storage via Coinbase Custody, Fidelity Digital Assets, and Fireblocks; equities provided through Apex Clearing; PCA supports verified USD and in-kind crypto withdrawals; 24/7 crypto trading; stocks during standard U.S. market hours; conditional orders & recurring buys.
Swan Bitcoin (Swan IRA)IRA admin: 0.02% of AUC per month (min $20); 1% buy/sell; no setup/closure/transfer feesBitcoin-onlyCustodian: Equity Trust (regulated SDIRA custodian); Swan also works with qualified custodians like BitGo/Bakkt in other contexts. Funding settles in hours–2 business days before purchase.
BitIRAFees not fully disclosed on site (company says no monthly fees; third-party reviews cite setup + storage fees, call for a quote)15–18+ cryptos incl. BTC, ETH, LTC, XLM, ZEC, LINK, AAVE, ETC, BCH (lineup has expanded over time)Custodians: Equity Trust & Preferred Trust; markets “end-to-end insurance” via partners; transparency varies and trading hours may not be 24/7
Fidelity Crypto IRA$0 to open/maintain; custody $0; ~1% spread on buy/sell (embedded execution spread)BTC, ETH, LTC (inside Fidelity Crypto IRA)Custody & trading provided by Fidelity Digital Asset Services, LLC (NY limited-purpose trust); majority of crypto held in cold storage; available to U.S. customers in supported states.

How We Rank

  • Quality & UX: 9.2/10 — Clear workflows, near-instant settlement, straightforward dashboards
  • Features: 8.2/10 — PCA + Crypto IRA, 100+ crypto assets, 10,000+ stocks and ETFs, ETH/SOL staking, USDC/RLUSD rewards, verified USD and in-kind crypto PCA withdrawals, conditional orders, recurring buys, and precious metals; stocks lack extended-hours trading and ACATS is not yet live
  • Value & Pricing: 9.0/10 — Flat 1% crypto transaction fee; $0 commissions on stock purchases and sales; eligible fractional shares from $20; no setup/monthly fees; $0 USD-to-USDC/RLUSD conversion fees; precious-metals fees quoted over spot per ounce and subject to change
  • Trust & Transparency: 8.5/10 — Institutional storage providers and closed-loop design; insurance details not disclosed
  • Support: 9.2/10 — Award-winning, U.S.-based live service; 15,000+ reviews rated “Excellent” and same-day responses emphasized
  • Security & Compliance: 8.7/10 — Cold storage/MPC/HSM; 1:1 off-balance-sheet FBO; strong controls, with limited public insurance detail
  • Integrations: 8.0/10 — Monthly statements and tax documents; CSV/API/third-party sync not specified; ACATS brokerage transfers are planned but not yet available

Disclosure: CryptoSlate was sponsored for this review, but independently developed its weighted scoring formula and final score, and may receive a referral commission if you sign up via links on this page.

iTrustCapital

Final Verdict

iTrustCapital combines institutional custody with 100+ crypto assets, 10,000+ stocks and ETFs, precious metals, and tax-advantaged IRAs. Stock trades carry $0 commissions, eligible fractional shares start at $20, and PCA clients can request USD or in-kind crypto withdrawals.

iTrustCapital
Overall Score
8.8 / 10
Excellent

Best For

American retirement savers who want low-fee, 24/7 access to crypto and gold/silver in a tax-advantaged IRA or a closed-loop custody account.

100+ crypto, stocks, ETFs, and metals · PCA supports USD and crypto withdrawals · ETH/SOL staking plus stablecoin rewards

Affiliate Disclosure

Disclaimer: CryptoSlate may receive a commission when you click links on our site and make a purchase or complete an action with a third party. This does not influence our editorial independence, reviews, or ratings, and we always aim to provide accurate, transparent information to our readers.