Gemini scores 7.1/10 for U.S. access, free ACH, and documented controls. Compare alternatives for lower entry fees or access in more countries.
Gemini vs Crypto.com: US Access, Trading Costs, and Cards
Gemini reaches all 50 US states and publishes audited financial disclosures. Crypto.com charges lower entry Exchange fees and lists more spot and staking assets.
Crypto.com Exchange scores 6.4/10 across its documented Global Exchange footprint. Its dated reserve snapshot and jurisdiction-dependent fiat rails limit the result.
Some links in this comparison are affiliate links. CryptoSlate may earn a commission if you sign up through these links. Our ratings remain editorially independent.
Gemini vs Crypto.com Overview
Product and legal boundaries determine which fees, markets, contracts, cards, and custody model apply.
Gemini vs Crypto.com Quick Comparison
Crypto.com leads entry fees, dated spot assets, staking choices, and the advertised card ceiling. Gemini leads US state coverage and API protocol breadth.
Gemini vs Crypto.com Category Winners
No same-basis spread, depth, slippage, fill, incident-recovery, or response-time test is published.
Gemini leads New York access, recurring audited disclosure, card simplicity, and FIX. Crypto.com leads entry fees, spot assets, staking selection, the card ceiling, and general support-channel availability.
Screenshots
Trading Fees and Pricing
Crypto.com has lower entry order-book commissions. Retail and Main App purchases still require a live quote comparison.
Gemini ActiveTrader charged 0.600% for maker orders and 1.200% for taker orders on the schedule checked August 29, 2026. The rate reached 0% maker and 0.020% taker at $250 million or more in 30-day volume. Stablecoin pairs used separate rates. The retail purchase screen also had its own quoted price and transaction costs, so the ActiveTrader schedule did not apply to every Gemini purchase.
For accounts below $10,000 in rolling 30-day volume, Crypto.com Exchange applied 0.25% to maker fills and 0.50% to taker fills on August 29, 2026. The next stated tier, beginning at $10,000, was 0.20% and 0.40%. CRO balances or VIP qualification could change the schedule. A qualifying 50,000 CRO balance produced 0% maker and 0.44% taker at entry. That maker discount introduced program rules and the price exposure shown in CRO token price data.
The Main App shows a variable administrative fee in the transaction preview and does not publish a reliable universal spread percentage. Its previewed all-in amount is the relevant simple-purchase cost.
What a $1,000 Spot Order Costs
At the stated entry tiers, Crypto.com costs $3.50 less as maker and $7.00 less as taker on a $1,000 order.
A $1,000 maker order produces a $6 ActiveTrader commission or a $2.50 Crypto.com Exchange commission at its standard no-CRO entry tier. As taker orders, the same notional produces $12 at Gemini and $5 at Crypto.com. These examples exclude spread, slippage, payment charges, CRO exposure, and withdrawal costs.
Supported Crypto Assets and Markets
Crypto.com's dated API snapshot contains more spot assets. Exact pair and derivatives-contract rankings remain unsupported.
Crypto.com has the larger documented spot selection, with 422 unique base assets across 576 tradable spot pairs in its August 28, 2026 public Exchange API snapshot. Gemini's Trust Center listed 99 crypto assets on August 29. These dated, surface-specific counts do not promise that every asset, quote currency, or withdrawal network is available in every country.
The Gemini Dollar market profile tracks GUSD, while selected GUSD and other stablecoin pairs receive separate ActiveTrader fee treatment.
Gemini's Trust Center also reported 655 trading pairs, while its public symbols API returned a different total. That conflict makes a precise pair-count ranking unreliable. Crypto.com's App, Exchange, and API likewise publish different totals because a coin available for a consumer purchase is not necessarily a live order-book market.
Derivatives, Margin, and Staking
Crypto.com names futures access and more staking assets. Regional eligibility and unmatched rates prevent a universal product winner.
Gemini limits its US margin product to eligible contract participants through Moonbase and allows up to 5×. On August 29, 2026, published borrowing rates included 0.003% hourly for USD, 0.0012% for BTC, and 0.0014% for ETH, with a 0.5% liquidation fee. Selected non-US accounts could access perpetuals at up to 100× under separate rules. Gemini's published materials conflict on position direction, so long-and-short eligibility is not disclosed.
Crypto.com's global Exchange offers perpetuals and futures where permitted. Product access depends on jurisdiction. US residents use separate products through Crypto.com | Derivatives North America, which is distinct from the global perpetual menu. The public instrument list produces conflicting contract classifications, so a reliable total is not disclosed.
Gemini listed ETH, SOL, and MON staking on August 29, 2026, while Crypto.com's Main App listed 25 assets. Gemini advertised gross rates of up to 2% for ETH, 4% for SOL, and 7% for MON before its service fee. Its June 2026 agreement sets that fee at 35%, the product page says up to 35%, and a support article still says 25%. Crypto.com retained 15% of ETH rewards. NEAR and INJ carried 35%, while the other listed assets carried 20%. Protocol activation and unbonding can still delay access.
Gemini Credit Card vs Crypto.com Cards
Crypto.com advertises the higher reward ceiling. Gemini provides one card with named terms and no exchange-token qualification.
Gemini has one conventional credit card with no annual fee or foreign-transaction fee. Gas, EV charging, transit, taxis, and rideshare can earn 4% in crypto on the first $300 of qualifying monthly category spend, then 1%. Dining earns 3%, groceries 2%, and other purchases 1%. The Gemini crypto rewards card review covers the application and category rules.
Crypto.com's prepaid and credit cards require separate comparisons because the prepaid product advertises as much as 5% while the US Visa Signature credit card advertises as much as 6%. Plan eligibility and reward caps determine the actual rate. Eligible US credit-card users may denominate rewards in BTC or CRO. The Crypto.com Visa rewards card review separates the funding and approval models.
Orders, Execution, APIs, and Limits
Gemini adds FIX and a named TradingView integration. Neither source supports a liquidity or execution winner.
Both advanced platforms support market and limit trading as well as TradingView order entry. Gemini's APIs cover REST, WebSocket, and FIX. Crypto.com Exchange offers REST and WebSocket endpoints for spot and eligible derivatives or margin functions. API keys can be restricted by permission and IP-allowlisted. Its institutional test environment is invitation-only, so it is not an open retail sandbox.
No same-basis execution test is published, so asset count and FIX availability do not establish better fills. Gemini wins only on named API protocol breadth because it adds FIX.
Deposits, Withdrawals, and Fiat Rails
Both publish free eligible US ACH withdrawals with the same stated daily dollar ceiling. Holds and wire rules differ by surface.
Both platforms support free US ACH where the account qualifies, while Gemini also supports domestic wires and selected card or digital-wallet purchase routes. Funding holds can prevent immediate crypto withdrawal even when the account balance displays the deposit.
As checked August 29, 2026, Crypto.com's Main App ACH withdrawal had a $1 minimum and allowed up to five withdrawals or $100,000 per day, with a $500,000 rolling 30-day ceiling. A pending US Instant Deposit could keep the purchased crypto unavailable for withdrawal or transfer for as long as seven business days.
Crypto.com's Main App and Exchange apply different wire rules, beginning with no platform fee for a Main App SWIFT withdrawal even though banks can charge. Internal review can take one to three business days, followed by one to five business days for the SWIFT transfer. On the Exchange, the first $1 million in rolling 30-day net USD wire withdrawals is free, followed by 0.05%. Daily limits are $100,000 for retail, $500,000 for retail VIP, and $10 million for institutions.
KYC, Regulation, and Geographic Availability
Gemini covers all 50 US states. Crypto.com's Main App is open to customers in the UK, EEA, and Australia, where Gemini closed accounts in April 2026.
Gemini requires full identity verification before ordinary funded use. Crypto.com documents legal-name, government-ID, and selfie checks and may request source-of-funds evidence. Account status and product rules can still raise or restrict limits. Neither is a no-KYC platform.
Gemini wins the US state comparison because exchange accounts reach all 50 states as well as Puerto Rico and Washington, DC, subject to product restrictions. Moonbase is the contracting entity for most US accounts. Gemini Trust retains New York, Idaho, qualified-custody, and certain transitional or technical accounts, so the account agreement determines the entity.
Crypto.com's Main App serves 49 states, Washington, DC, and US territories but excludes New York. Its cards, Exchange, staking, and derivatives can have narrower eligibility. The page on state-level exchange availability helps separate account access from individual product access.
Crypto.com's Main App is open to customers in the UK, EEA, and Australia. Gemini completed closures for those accounts on April 6, 2026, and its August 29 Trust Center listed 41 operational countries. Crypto.com's permissions are service and entity specific, so Main App access does not automatically open every Exchange, card, custody, or derivatives product.
Security, Custody, and Reserve Evidence
Gemini leads recurring audited disclosure. Crypto.com provides user inclusion for a dated December 2022 reserve snapshot.
Both centralized accounts remain custodial even though Gemini requires two-factor authentication and supports hardware security keys plus withdrawal-address allowlisting. It states that customer crypto is held 1:1 and segregated. On August 29, 2026, its Trust Center showed audited financial statements through December 2025 and SOC 1/2 coverage through September 30, 2025. Gemini Trust supplies qualified custody for the relevant accounts.
Crypto.com states 1:1 backing and lists passkeys, MFA, HSM and FIDO2 controls, withdrawal-address whitelisting, SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS, and several ISO certifications. It reimbursed users affected by its January 2022 account incident. These controls and disclosures do not make exchange balances equivalent to user-controlled keys.
Gemini has no Merkle-tree tool for a user to verify balance inclusion, while Crypto.com's Mazars proof supports checks only for covered assets and qualifying accounts against a December 7, 2022 snapshot. Gemini supplies recurring audited disclosure. The Crypto.com proof is a dated asset-backing check with narrower scope than a current full solvency audit, consistent with the limits explained in what reserve snapshots prove.
Websites, Mobile Apps, APIs, and Customer Support
Gemini names more API protocols. Crypto.com advertises the broader general live-support channel.
Gemini's consumer experience and ActiveTrader sit within the same account ecosystem on web and mobile. ActiveTrader adds TradingView and the three named API protocols. Gemini routes general exchange questions through a support form and email. Its explicit 24/7 phone channel applies to Credit Card support.
Crypto.com uses distinct interfaces for separate jobs, with the Main App covering basic account functions plus cards and staking while the Exchange app and website handle advanced trading. Crypto.com Onchain is a separate self-custody application. The company advertises 24/7 live customer support. Comparable response times and resolution rates are not disclosed.
Gemini vs Crypto.com FAQs
Which has lower spot fees, Crypto.com or Gemini?
For less than $10,000 of 30-day volume and without a qualifying CRO balance, Crypto.com Exchange charged 0.25% for makers and 0.50% for takers on August 29, 2026. Gemini ActiveTrader charged 0.600% and 1.200%. Simple purchase screens used separate quotes and costs.
Does Gemini or Crypto.com list more crypto assets?
Crypto.com has the larger dated spot selection because its public Exchange API returned 422 unique tradable spot base assets on August 28, 2026, while Gemini's August 29 Trust Center listed 99. Availability can still vary by country, account, pair, and withdrawal network.
Is Gemini or Crypto.com safer?
Gemini leads in recurring audited financial and controls disclosure, while Crypto.com lets eligible users verify inclusion in a December 7, 2022 reserve snapshot. Both are custodial, and neither disclosure proves complete current solvency or prevents account compromise.
Can New York residents use Gemini and Crypto.com?
Gemini serves New York, while Crypto.com's Main App is available in 49 states and excludes it. Card, staking, Exchange, and derivatives eligibility can be narrower than the main account footprint.
Which has more staking choices, Gemini or Crypto.com?
Crypto.com's Main App listed 25 staking assets on August 29, 2026, while Gemini listed ETH, SOL, and MON. Gemini's agreement says 35%, its product page says up to 35%, and a support article still says 25%. Crypto.com retained 15% for ETH. NEAR and INJ carried 35%, while the other listed assets carried 20%.
How do Gemini and Crypto.com card terms differ?
Gemini has one credit card with named categories and no annual or foreign-transaction fee. Crypto.com offers a prepaid card and a US credit card, with advertised ceilings of up to 5% and 6%, respectively. Plan eligibility and reward caps affect the result.
What US leveraged or contract products do Gemini and Crypto.com offer?
Gemini offers Moonbase margin only to eligible contract participants, while its perpetuals remain selected non-US products. Crypto.com's US contracts operate through Crypto.com | Derivatives North America. These products do not provide ordinary US access to Crypto.com's global Exchange perpetual menu or to Gemini's perpetuals, which remain limited to selected non-US jurisdictions.
Do Gemini and Crypto.com require KYC?
Yes. Ordinary funded use on each platform begins with identity checks. Additional review and account-specific limits can apply. Neither is a no-KYC exchange.



Gemini combines its retail interface with ActiveTrader, staking, institutional services, and a credit card. Its US flagship account scores 7.1/10 in the Gemini fee and custody review.
The Global Crypto.com Exchange scores 6.4/10 in the Crypto.com App and Exchange review. The compared account includes the order-book Exchange and APIs, with derivatives available outside restricted jurisdictions. Main App purchases, US staking, Crypto.com | Derivatives North America, cards, and Crypto.com Onchain are separate surfaces.